To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Randall County, Texas Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Randall County Texas ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


TX ORP.png



Randall County, Texas
Map
Map of Texas highlighting Randall County
Location in the state of Texas
Map of the U.S. highlighting Texas
Location of Texas in the U.S.
Facts
Founded August 21, 1876
County Seat Canyon
Courthouse
TexasRandallCourthouse.jpg
Adopt-a-wiki page
Hiddenancestorslogo.JPG This page adopted by:
Hidden Ancestors
who welcome you to contribute.
User:Evancol
Adopt a page today


County Information[edit | edit source]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Randall County Courthouse
PO Box 660;
Canyon, TX 79015-0660
Phone: 806.655.6330 

County Clerk has marriage, probate and land records;
District Clerk has divorce records[1]

County Clerk

2309 Russell Long Blvd, Ste 101
Canyon 79015
Phone: 806-468-5505
Fax: 806-468-5509

District Clerk

2309 Russell Long Blvd. Ste. 110
Canyon 79015
Phone: 806-468-5600
Fax: 806-468-5604

Randall County, Texas Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[2]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1903 1889 1903 1889 1889 1889 1829
Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1903.
General compliance by the 1930s.


History[edit | edit source]

Parent County[edit | edit source]

1876--Randall County was created 21 August 1876 from Bexar Land District.

  • County seat: Canyon [3]

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places / Localities[edit | edit source]

Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[4]

Cities
Towns
Villages
Unincorporated communities
Ghost towns

‡This populated place also has portions in an adjacent county or counties

Neighboring Counties[edit | edit source]

Armstrong  • Carson  • Castro  • Deaf Smith  • Oldham  • Potter  • Swisher

Resources[edit | edit source]

African American[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
FindAGrave Family History Library FindAGrave
Linkpendium WorldCat Tombstone Project
BillionGraves (name) Cemeteries of TX
GenWeb Archives Texas Cemeteries
BillionGraves TX Gravestones
TXGenWeb Epodunk
Names in Stone Interment
See Texas Cemeteries for more information.

Additional Cemetery Sources

Census[edit | edit source]

Historical populations
Census Pop.
18803
18901876,133.3%
1900963415.0%
19103,312243.9%
19203,67511.0%
19307,07192.4%
19407,1851.6%
195013,77491.7%
196033,913146.2%
197053,88558.9%
198075,06239.3%
199089,67319.5%
2000104,31216.3%
2010120,72515.7%


Church[edit | edit source]

Court[edit | edit source]

Land[edit | edit source]

After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions, including deeds and mortgages, have been recorded by the county. You can obtain copies of these land records by writing to the county clerk at the county courthouse. For more information, see Texas Land and Property.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists microfilm copies of deeds, trust deeds, and mortgages of many counties.


Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Local histories are available for Randall County, Texas Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Texas Local Histories.

  • Texas Museums  ~  List of all museums in Texas  ~  Hidden Ancestors

Maps[edit | edit source]

Oldham CountyPotter CountyCarson CountyDeaf Smith CountyArmstrong CountyCastro CountySwisher CountyTX RANDALL.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Military[edit | edit source]

Mexican-American War[edit | edit source]
Civil War[edit | edit source]
World War I[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Randall County, Texas Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

TX Newspaper Abstracts (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Probate[edit | edit source]

Probate records of Texas have been kept by the probate clerk in each county courthouse. You can obtain copies of the records from the clerk's office. In most counties, all information pertaining to a probate case is recorded in the "probate minutes."

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their places of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records.

See the Wiki page Texas Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Online Probate Records

Taxation[edit | edit source]

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Birth[edit | edit source]

Online Birth Indexes and Records

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Online Marriage Indexes and Records

Death[edit | edit source]

Online Death Indexes and Records

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Societies and Libraries[edit | edit source]

Canyon Area Library
1501 3rd Ave
Canyon, TX 79015
Telephone Number: 806-655-5015
Website


  • Society Hill  ~  Links and addresses to Texas genealogical and historical societies

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Websites[edit | edit source]

  • Randall County Archives  ~  USGenWeb Archives Project
  • Randall County  ~  TXGenWeb
  • TXGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the county.
  • USGenWeb Texas Archives Vital statistics, maps, obituaries, Bible records, tombstone transcriptions and many other records.
  • FamilySearch Catalog — The catalog is genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) This catalog is different than the indexed Historical Records.

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Randall County, Texas. Page 672 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Randall County, Texas . Page 658-677 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 655-665.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. Wikipedia contributors, "Randall County, Texas," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Randall_County,_Texas, Last accessed 19 August 2019.

To access available information, first log into FamilySearch.