Reckange-sur-Mess Commune, Luxembourg Genealogy
Guide to Reckange-sur-Mess Commune ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.
|Luxembourg Wiki Topics|
|Local Research Resources|
- 1 Parishes / Villages
- 2 Civil Registration
- 3 Church Records or Parish Registers
- 4 Census Records (Recensements)
- 5 Search Strategy
- 6 Learning to Read Enough French or German to Do Genealogy
Most of your genealogical research for Reckange-sur-Mess, Luxembourg will be in three main record types: civil registration, church records, and census records. This article will teach you methods for locating and searching these three record groups.
Parishes / Villages[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
- Civil registration records are government records of births, marriages, and deaths, as opposed to church records, which were the most common records of those events for some centuries previous.
- Dates: In Luxembourg, registering births, marriages, and deaths began in 1797.
- Contents: For detailed descriptions of the information you might find in each record, see Luxembourg Civil Registration
- Language: French, German.
- Accessing the records: Civil registration records were and are kept at the local registrar’s office in each town or city. A copy of each record is sent to the Administration Communale in Luxembourg City..
1. Online Digital Records for Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
For many communes in Luxembourg, digital copies of civil registration can be searched online:
- 1895-1941 - Luxembourg Civil Registration, Reckange-sur-Mess, 1895-1941, , free, browsable images. Records will eventually be indexed online.
- Earlier coverage is available in microfilm form.
2. Microfilm Copies of Civil Registration Records in the FamilySearch Catalog[edit | edit source]
Civil registration records for Reckange-sur-Mess are microfilmed and held in the collection of the Family History Library. Currently, these microfilms are being digitized, and plans are to complete that project by 2020. Check back occasionally to see if your records have become available. In the meantime, some of them might be available at a Family History Center near you.
To find a microfilm:
- a. Click on this link to see a list of records for Reckange-sur-Mess, Luxembourg.
- b. Click on "Civil Registration" topic. Click on the blue links to specific record titles.
- c. Choose the correct event and time period for your ancestor. Naissances=Births. Mariages=Marriages. Décès=Deaths. Sépultures=Burials. Tables décennales=indexes by decade.
- d. Some combination of these icons will appear at the far right of the record title. . The magnifying glass indicates that the microfilm is indexed. Clicking on the magnifying glass will take you to the index. Clicking on the camera will take you to an online digital copy of the microfilm.
3. Writing for Civil Registration Certificates[edit | edit source]
- If the records are not online or microfilmed, civil registration records can be obtained by writing to the local civil registry. This is particularly necessary for more recent records. Recent records are covered by privacy laws, so they are not released for microfilm or online. But relatives are allowed to request them for genealogy.
- One copy was kept by the local registry office. A duplicate record was sent to the Administration Communale in Luxembourg City.
- To request records,use these addresses:
Local Civil Registry Office
Help Writing Requests in French[edit | edit source]
Requests should be written in French. You can successfully write in French using this French Letter Writing Guide.
Church Records or Parish Registers[edit | edit source]
- Parish registers are vital records kept by the clergy. They include records of christenings (baptisms), marriages, and deaths (burials).
- Church records are crucial for research before the civil government started keeping vital records, which began in 1797.
- In 1797 when the official état civil (civil registration) was introduced, a French order required that the priests turn their parish registers over to the communities (civil jurisdiction). But the clergy, mistreated by the French regime, obeyed this order only partially. Thus, beginning with that date, part of the registers were deposited with the local civil government (communes) and part of them remained in the hands of the clergy.
1. Online Digital Church Records[edit | edit source]
- 1756-1797 - Luxembourg Church Records, Reckange-sur-Mess, 1756-1797, free, browsable images.
- 1779-1817 - Luxembourg Church Records, Limpach, 1779-1817, free, browsable images.
2. Microfilm Copies of Church Records in the FamilySearch Catalog[edit | edit source]
Records for Reckange-sur-Mess are microfilmed and held in the collection of the Family History Library. Currently, these microfilms are being digitized, and plans are to complete that project by 2020. Check back occasionally to see if your records have become available. In the meantime, some of them might be available at a Family History Center near you.
To find a microfilm:
- a. Click on this link to see a list of records for Reckange-sur-Mess, Luxembourg. See also, records for Limpach.
- b. Click on "Church Records" topic. Click on the blue links to specific record titles.
- c. Choose the correct event and time period for your ancestor. Baptêmes=Baptisms. Mariages=Marriages. Sépultures=burials.
- d. Some combination of these icons will appear at the far right of the microfilm listed for the record. . The magnifying glass indicates that the microfilm is indexed. Clicking on the magnifying glass will take you to the index. Clicking on the camera will take you to an online digital copy of the microfilm.
3. Requesting Records From the National Archives[edit | edit source]
Archives of Luxembourg (Archives de Nationales Luxembourg) has collections of parish registers and can advise you on records that are still retained by the local parish. This is where you will write for more recent records--those for events since the end of the digitized records coverage (about 1923) up to the present day. Their Genealogical Research FAQ explains in detail how to request and pay for searches and copies of records.
Census Records (Recensements)[edit | edit source]
Census records list the names of each member of a family and show ages and other valuable information for linking families. Earlier censuses give names of heads of families and their children. Later censuses give ages or birth dates, places of residence, civil status, occupation, etc. The are especially useful for sorting children unto families, when a village has several families with the same father's name.
Online[edit | edit source]
- Luxembourg Census Records, 1843-1900, Reckange-sur-Mess
- Luxembourg Census Records - FamilySearch Historical Records
Search Strategy[edit | edit source]
- Search for the relative or ancestor you selected. When you find his birth record, search for the births of his brothers and sisters.
- Next, search for the marriage of his parents. The marriage record will have information that will often help you find the birth records of the parents.
- You can estimate the ages of the parents and determine a birth year to search for their birth records.
- Search the death registers for all known family members.
- Repeat this process for both the father and the mother, starting with their birth records, then their siblings' births, then their parents' marriages, and so on.
- If earlier generations (parents, grandparents, etc.) do not appear in the records, search neighboring parishes.
Learning to Read Enough French or German to Do Genealogy[edit | edit source]
- It's easier than you think! You do not have to be fluent in French and German to use these records, as there is only a limited vocabulary used in them. By learning a few key phrases, you will be able to read them adequately. Here are some resources for learning to read French records.
- There is a three-lesson course in reading French Records:
Here are some resources for learning to read German records.
- Online interactive slideshow lessons are available to help you learn to read these records:
- Reading German Handwritten Records Lesson 1: Kurrent Letters
- Reading German Handwritten Records Lesson 2: Making Words in Kurrent
- Reading German Handwritten Records Lesson 3: Reading Kurrent Documents. In this lesson, you will explore several types of German genealogical records, including birth, baptismal, marriage, and death records.
- German Script Tutorial
This converter will show you how any phrase or name might look in German script:
- Kurrentschrift Converter (enter German genealogical word, click on "convert", view your word in Kurrentschrift (Gothic handwriting)