Reculver, Kent Genealogy
Guide to Reculver, Kent ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Reculver St Mary Kent
|County||Kent, England Genealogy|
|Poor Law Union||Blean|
|Parish registers: 1602|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1565|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Canterbury|
|Location of Archive|
|Kent History and Library Centre|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
RECULVER (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Blean, hundred of Bleangate, lathe of St. Augustine, E division of Kent, 10 miles NE by N from Canterbury. 
The ruined towers of St Mary's Church are the dominant feature in Reculver, see Reculver Wikipedia for a detailed history of the church and its ruin, the loss of the coastal town and the absorption of the civil parish into Herne Bay.
Reculver's parish boundary, remained the same for both ecclesiastical and civil purposes until 1934. Included were Reculver, Hillborough, Bishopstone and Brook (now Brook Farm), though the parish extended west almost to Beltinge, in Herne parish, and to Broomfield in the south-west – where the boundary with Herne parish ran along the centre of the main thoroughfare, now Margate Road – and it was bounded in open country on the south-east and east by the parish of Chislet. In 1934, the civil functions of the parish were merged into the civil parish of Herne Bay.
The replacement church for Reculver was built at Hillborough: St Mary The Virgin Reculver has a parish boundary map at A church near you and was built in 1813 but was replaced in 1876 and consecrated in 1878.
The Parish Church of St Mary the Virgin, Reculver Lane, Canterbury has been designated as a grade C listed building British listed building
See also Edward Hasted, The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 9 (1800), pp. 109-125. Date accessed: 23 September 23013. at British History Online and Kent Churches website
See also Reculver Abbey at Kent Churches website
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.
The Mansion House (Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Kent TN1 1EP
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Reculver parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FMP = FindMyPast - (£)|
|Reculver Online Parish Records|
|FMP||1602-1912||1602-1912||1603-1928; 1754-1927 (Banns)||1603-1928; 1754-1927 (Banns)||1602-1807||1602-1807|
Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]
- 1717 England & Wales, Roman Catholics, 1717 at FindMyPast ($), index and images
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
- Kent Census
- 1841 Census returns for Reculver are missing.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Local Family History Centre[edit | edit source]
- Family History Center Portal This centre has access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access in the centre to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
- Publication of the restricted access images England, Kent, Wills and Probate - FamilySearch Historical Records and England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments - FamilySearch Historical Records means that it is advisable to telephone the centre to reserve a computer if you wish to view these
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 645-652. Date accessed: 06 May 2013.
- 'Canterbury baptism records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 11 November 2013.
- 'Canterbury marriage records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 14 November 2013.
- 'Canterbury banns coverage', Find My Past, accessed 11 November 2013.
- 'Canterbury burial records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 14 November 2013.