Redbridge, London Borough Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to London Borough of Redbridge history, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Redbridge tube station.jpg


History[edit | edit source]

Redbridge Borough coat of arms
Redbridge Borough location in London
Redbridge Borough logo

As with most of the other London Boroughs, the British Government action of 1965 destroyed all traces of the original settlements from the point of view of Family History. Researchers should instead consider researching Redbridge in its original county of Essex.

At the time of the Domesday Survey the hundred of Redbridge (Rodbrige, xi cent.) included the parishes of Eling, Fawley, Dibden, Oakley in Mottisfont, 'Hariford' (perhaps Hartford in Beaulieu), Otterwood in Beaulieu, 'Gatingeorde' (perhaps Gatewood in Exbury), ' Titegrave' (perhaps Tidgrove in Kingsclere) and 'Roweste' and 'Northam,' which have not been identified. In 1316 only Eling, Dibden and Stone in Fawley remained in the hundred. Stone was transferred between 1831 and 1841 to Dibden Liberty, in which the rest of the parish of Fawley is now situated. Wigley has always formed part of Thorngate Hundred. Cadnam also, which lies partly in the parish of Eling and partly in that of Minstead, has always been in the hundred of Thorngate.

A survey of the hundred was taken in 1651. The court leet and law day were held twice yearly at Hocktide and Martinmas, either at Totton or Lyndhurst, as were the three-weekly hundred courts. In the tithing of Eling it was the custom for the last taker of any land there to do the service of tithingman. The steward for the courts was usually appointed by the Warden of the New Forest, who was also, as a rule, the owner of the hundred for the time being. The bailiff was appointed by the sheriff of the county.

Redbridge was a royal hundred, but was several times given in dower to the queens consort of England or otherwise granted out by the Crown, and in this way was granted to Eleanor (in 1279) and Margaret (in 1299), consorts of Edward I; Isabella consort of Edward II in 1318, Philippa consort of Edward III in 1331, who granted it to Thomas West in 1333 and John de Beauchamp about 1343. The king confirmed it to John de Beauchamp in 1359–60, and granted it to Richard de Pembrugg in 1360; to Sir John de Foxle in 1372–3 and 1376); to Edward Duke of York in 1397; to Sir Edward Courtenay in 1415; and to Thomas Earl of Salisbury in 1418. It was granted to Humphrey Duke of Gloucester in 1428, and in 1441 to William de la Pole Earl of Suffolk on the death or cession of Duke Humphrey. The duke held it until his death in 1446–7, and it was granted in 1461 to William Fiennes Lord Say and Sele, who surrendered it in 1467 to William Earl of Arundel, to whom a grant of the hundred was made for life with remainder to Sir Thomas Arundel and his heirs male by Margaret his wife. This grant was confirmed in 1490 to Thomas, then Earl of Arundel. (fn. 30) No further grants of the hundred have been found until 1624, when it was granted to the Earl of Pembroke during the minority of the Earl of Southampton, by whose father the hundred had formerly been held. In 1668 a warrant was issued for a grant of the hundred to Charles Lord St. John de Basing, and in 1689 it was confirmed to him as Marquess of Winchester. Presumably in the next century it reverted to the Crown, by whose appointment the office of steward of the hundred of Redbridge and the manor of Lyndhurst is held. [1]

The Redbridge formed part of the ancient parish of Barking, Essex. In 1888 it became part of the new civil parish of Ilford. The civil parish became a local board district in 1890, urban district in 1894 and municipal borough in 1926. The Municipal Borough of Ilford was abolished in 1965 and its former area became part of the London Borough of Redbridge in Greater London. [2]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries (Civil)[edit | edit source]

Buckingham Road Cemetery
495 High Rd
Ilford IG1 1RE

Barkingside Garden of Rest
87 Greenleafe Dr
Ilford IG6 1LH

Forest Park Cemetery and Crematorium
Forest Rd
lford, Hainault IG6 3HP
Phone: +44 20 8501 2236

Hendon Cemetery and Crematorium
Holders Hill Rd
London NW7 1NB
Phone: +44 20 8359 3370

Roding Lane Cemetery
Woodford
Woodford Green IG8 8NA
Phone: +44 20 8501 2236

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Parishes[edit | edit source]

St Cedd's
Church address:
91 Chalgrove Cres
Ilford IG5 0LX
Phone: +44 20 8551 3406

St Paul's Parish Church
Church address:
35 Barley Ln
Ilford IG3 8XE
Phone: +44 20 8983 8998

St Alban's
Church address:
99 Albert Rd
Ilford IG1 1HS
Phone: +44 20 8478 2031

All Saint's
Church address:
8AX, Hampton Rd
London,

St Margaret of Antioch
Church address:
Balfour Rd
Ilford IG1 4HP
Phone: +44 20 8554 7542

St Barnabas'
Church address:
Browning Road
Manor Park, London, E12 6PB
Phone: +44 20 8472 2777

St John the Baptist
Church address:
High Rd
Buckhurst Hill IG9 5RX
Phone: +44 20 8506 2150

St John's, Leytonstone
Church address:
High Rd
Leytonstone, London E11 1HH
Phone: +44 20 8558 2481

Christ Church
Church address:
Wanstead Pl
London E11 2SW
Phone: +44 20 8530 8743

St Anne's
Church address:
200 Larkshall Rd
London E4 6NP

Emmanuel Parish Church
Church address:
Romford Rd
London E7 8BD
Phone: +44 20 8522 1900

All Saints
Church address:
38 Broomhill Rd
Ilford IG3 9SJ
Phone: +44 20 8590 1476

Non Conformists[edit | edit source]

  • The Apostolic Church
  • Baptist
  • Church of Christ
  • Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints
  • Elim Christian Center
  • Evangelical
  • Jubilee Church
  • Methodist
  • Pentecostal
  • Salvation Army
  • Seventh Day Adventist
  • Tamil Church

Additionally the following non-Christian groups have assemblies in the region of Glasgow:

  • Buddhist
  • Hindu
  • Jewish
  • Muslim
  • Sikh

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths records have been kept by the UK government since July 1837 to the present day. Prior to that, local parishes of the Episcopal Church, and other religious organizations, were the only repositories of this information.

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Occupations[edit | edit source]

The most important industries in Redbridge in terms of employee jobs are within Public Administration, Education and Health; Financial, Real Estate and Administrative Activities and Wholesale and Retail (including motor trades). The following listing indicates the major occupational opportunities in the Borough, with present employment levels:

  • Energy and Water Management 200 positions.
  • Manufacturing 1800 positions.
  • Construction 4000 positions.
  • Wholesale and Retail, incl. motor trades 11800 positions.
  • Transportation and Storage 2700 positions.
  • Accommodation and Restaurants 4200 positions.
  • IT 4000 positions.
  • Financial and Business Management 14700 positions.
  • Public Admin, Health and Education 27400 positions.
  • Other Services 3500 positions.[3]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Web Sites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Redbridge in British History.ac, http://www.british-history.ac.uk/vch/hants/vol4/pp544-545, accessed 24 June, 2018.
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "London Borough of redbridge" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/London_Borough_of_Redbridge, accessed 24 June, 2018.
  3. Redbridge Council Occupational Profiles, https://www.redbridge.gov.uk/media/2319/draft-redbridge-borough-profile_reduced.pdf, accessed 26 June, 2018.