Redmarshall, Durham Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Redmarshall, Durham family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Redmarshall, Durham
Redmarshall St Cuthbert Co Durham.jpg
Redmarshall St Cuthbert Co Durham
Type England Jurisdictions
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Stockton
County Durham, England Genealogy
Poor Law Union Stockton
Registration District Stockton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1559
Bishop's Transcripts: 1770
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Stockton
Diocese Durham
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Durham County Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

REDMARSHALL (St. Cuthbert), a parish, partly in the union of Stockton, and partly in that of Sedgefield, SW division of Stockton ward, S division of the county of Durham. [1]

Additional information:
Redmarshall St Cuthbert is an Ancient Parish in the county of Durham. Stillington, Durham Genealogy and Carlton, Durham Genealogy are chapelries in Redmarshall. "The Church, an ancient stone structure, dedicated to St. Cuthbert, consists of nave with small southern porch, chancel with south transept or "Claxton Porch," and a fine massive western tower. The more ancient portions appear to date from the Norman period, the Claxton Porch being added in the fourteenth century as a chantry. The very interesting sedilia on the south side of the chancel and the large arch on the north appear also of this date. The Claxton porch contains two remarkable figures in alabaster, representing Thomas Langton of Wynyard, 1417, and Sybil his wife. The work is of high character, but both figures are much defaced." [From History, Topography and Directory of Durham, Whellan , London, 1894]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Find Neighboring Parishes[edit | edit source]

Use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map

  • Type the name of the parish in the search bar
  • Click on the location pin on the map
  • Choose Options from the pop up box
  • Click "List Contiguous Parishes" to find the neighboring parishes

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

The Church of England (Anglican) became the official state religion in 1534, with the reigning monarch as its Supreme Governor.
Non-Conformist refers to all other religious denominations that are not the official state religion.

Church of England[edit | edit source]

Due to the increasing access of online records:

  • Individual parish coverage for databases in this table are inconsistent and should be verified
  • Dates in the following table are approximate

Hover over the collection's title for more information

Redmarshall Online Parish Records
Collections
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes and images
Indexes only
Indexes and images
Indexes only
Indexes and images
Indexes only
FamilySearch Collections-Durham
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
FamilySearch Parish Registers-Durham
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
Bishop's Transcripts - FamilySearch Catalog
1700s-1800s
-
1700s-1800s
-
1700s-1800s
-
FreeREG
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
Find My Past-Durham ($)
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
Ancestry-England Select Births, Marriages, Death, and Burials ($)
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
Databases with Known Incomplete Parish Coverage
Boyd's Marriage Indexes-FMP (Free)
-
-
-
1500s-1800s
-
-
National Burial Index-FMP (Free)
-
-
-
-
-
1800s-1900s

Other Websites
These databases have incomplete parish coverage.

Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Durham Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Redmarshall on GENUKI

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 11 December 2103.