Rio Grande, Puerto Rico Genealogy
|Puerto Rico Wiki Topics|
|Puerto Rico Background|
|Local Research Resources|
Guide to Municipality of Rio Grande family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
History[edit | edit source]
The town of Río Grande, founded in 1840, was named after the nearby river.
During the first years after the municipality was founded, Río Grande’s economy was based mostly on livestock ranching. Years later, the cultivation of sugar cane increased. As a result, mills were built, which were later turned into plantations, which were in turn taken over by mechanized central sugar mills.
Today, the municipality’s economy is mainly based on manufacturing and tourism. In recent years, business, banking, and construction have experienced much growth.
The year 2017 changed the face of much of Puerto Rico after Hurricane Maria hit the island, causing landslides and significant rainfall amounts.
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
More recent records are protected by privacy laws. However, close relatives can request them for genealogy.
Online Records[edit | edit source]
- Puerto Rico, Civil Registration, 1805-2001, index, incomplete
- Puerto Rico, Civil Registrations, 1885-2001, index, incomplete
- Puerto Rico, Civil Registration, 1805-2001, Rio Grande
- Puerto Rico Births and Baptisms, 1938-1947 — index
Church Records[edit | edit source]
- Puerto Rico, Catholic Church Records, 1645-1969, Rio Grande, browse images.
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Search the 1910, 1920, 1930, and 1940 census records for information about your Puerto Rican ancestors who were there during that time period. Click here to go to the Puerto Rico Census Page
References[edit | edit source]
- Wikipedia contributors, "Río Grande, Puerto Rico," Wikipedia, The Free Encylopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/R%C3%ADo_Grande,_Puerto_Rico, accessed 12/24/20.
- Wikipedia contributors, "Rio Grande," Wikipedia, The Free Encylopedia'http://nuestropuertorico.com/municipalities/en-rio-grande/', , accessed 12/24/20.