Risør Parish, Aust-Agder, Norway Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Risør, Aust-Agder, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

Risør Parish
Jurisdictions
Stift/Bispedømme/
Diocese
Agder og Telemark bispedømme (1925-today), Stavanger bispedømme (1684-1925), Oslo bispedømme (1070-1684)
Prosti Aust-Nedenes prosti
Len 1599-1660 Agdesiden
Amt 1689-1919 1660-1682: Agdesiden, 1682-1685: Christiansand, 1685-1919: Nedenes
Fylke 1919-Present Aust-Agder
Region Sørlandet
Prestegjeld Risør
Kommune Risør
Skifteretten Risør skifterett
Tinglag nedenes
Fogderi Nedenes
Sorenskriveri Holt
Skipreide Strengreid skipreide


Church Records[edit | edit source]

  • Microfilm at the Family History Library for Risør prestegjeld (clerical district).  Contains priest and sexton records for Risør parish. Belonged to Gjerstad clerical district until 1745. Included Sønneløv (Søndeled) parish until 1877. When the city burned in 1861 two church books were lost. See Sønneløv clerical district for some church records for the years 1801-1815.  Parish registers for the years 1695-1921.

  • Digitized images of parish registers available online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).


The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints[edit | edit source]


Den Evangeliske Lutherske Frimenighet[edit | edit source]


Census Records[edit | edit source]

See Gjerstad, Aust-Agder for 1664-1666, and 1701.


  • 1855: A special 1855 census for Risør is available at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives)


  • 1865: The 1865 census for Risør is available on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. This census contain the persons name, residence, status in the family, occupation, sex, martial status, place of birth, religion if not a member of the state church, and other miscellaneous information. Each book usually contains one clerical district (prestegjeld). In some books there are two clerical districts recorded. The parishes and school districts in each clerical district are listed at the beginning of each book. Also available online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives) of Norway; as well as at the Norwegian Historical Data Centre at the University of Tromsø, Norway.



  • 1885: A special 1885 census for Risør exists and is available in a searchable database online at Digitialarkivet (Digital Archives).


  • 1900: The 1900 census for Risør is available on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. This census contains the persons name, sex, resident or temporary resident, temporarily absent and where person is, position in the family, marital status, occupation, date of birth, place of birth, citizenship, religion, and other miscellaneous information. Also available online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives) of Norway as well as at the Norwegian Historical Data Centre at the University of Tromsø, Norway.

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Land Records[edit | edit source]

Farm Books[edit | edit source]

Genealogy[edit | edit source]

Merker, Bertha, 1903-: Ancestry of Halvor Knutson, husband of Johanne Torsdatter, Østre Nes, With: Data on marriage and migration of Gunhild Thorsdatter, Østre Nes, Holt / researched and written by Bertha Merker. Includes DeLauter, Haas, Lyon, Nuetzman, Quick and related families.

Johanne Torsdatter married Halvor Knutsen in 1854 at Holt Parish, Norway, and immigrated to Ridgeway, Iowa County, Wisconsin. Includes descendants (chiefly spelling the surname Knutson) and relatives in Wisconsin and elsewhere. Includes ancestry of Halvor Knutsen of the gaard Akland (Akeland) near Risør Parish, Aust-Agder County, Norway.

FHL 929.273 A1 To view a digital version click here

Finne-Grønn, S. H. (Stian Herlofsen), 1869-1953: Falc'kerne af Tønsberg og Risør. The Falck family of Tønsberg, Vestfold co., and Risør, Aust-Agder co., Norway.

FHL 929.2481 F181 To view a digital version click here

Nissen, Hartvig: I.W. Prebensen og Wenche Grove, litt om dem og deres slegt. A genealogy of the ancestors and descendants of Jacob Wetlesen (I. W.) Prebensen (1808-1892) of Risør, Aust-Agder, Norway and his wife Wenche Christiane Grove (1820-1905). Includes a biography of Wenche Grove and others.

FHL 929.2481 P911n To view a digital version click here

Schlytter, Victor: Opptegnelser om slekten Schlytter (1674-1974). Family history and genealogy of the Norwegian Schlytter family. Family originated from Stralsund. The forefather of this line, Hans Schlytter, came from Stralsund to Bergen ca. 1674. His first wife was Zara Belles (Bellers) (d. 1744) and his second wife was Margrethe Zachariasdatter Lange (1712-1787). Descendants live in Bergen and Risør areas of Norway and elsewhere. Book also contains some members of the Schlüter families of Germany, Denmark etc.

FHL 929.2481 Sch39s Available through the FamilySearch Catalog

Lindstøl, Tallak: Risør gjennom 200 aar, 1723-1923. A history of Risør in Aust-Agder county through 200 years from 1723 to 1923.

FHL 948.28/R1 H2L

Finne-Grønn, S. H. (Stian Herlofsen), 1869-1953.: Risør-slekter: Thor Straten med den Carstensenske legatfamilie. A genealogy of some of the families in Risør in Aust-Agder county.

FHL 948.28/R1 D2f

Busch, Anthon (Anthon Carl), 1900-: Slekten Busch i Rostock, Risør og Oslo. A genealogy of the Busch family in Rostock, Mecklenburg-Schwerin, Germany, Risør in Aust-Agder county and Oslo in Oslo county in Norway.

FHL 929.2481 B96b Available through the FamilySearch Catalog

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Arendal and Risør city judicial district
*1709-1779 Family History Library

Risør city judicial district
*1829-1858 Family History Library
*1829-1902 Digitalarkivet