To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

River, Kent Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to River, Kent ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

River, Kent
River St Peter & St Paul Kent.jpg
River St Peter & St Paul Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bewsborough
County Kent
Poor Law Union Dover
Registration District Dover
Records begin
Parish registers: 1620
Bishop's Transcripts: 1568
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Dover
Diocese Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Canterbury
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

RIVER (St. Peter and St. Paul), a parish, in the union of Dover, hundred of Bewsborough, lathe of St. Augustine, E division of Kent, 2½ miles NW from Dover. [1]

River is a village and civil parish in the Dover district of Kent, see River Kent Wikipedia

River St Peter and St Paul is an Ancient Parish in the Diocese of Canterbury; see A church near you<

A history of the church may be found at Kent Past website

See Edward Hasted, The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 9 (1800), pp. 437-444. Date accessed: 30 September 2013. at British History Online and Kent Churches website

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

See Dover Registration District

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House (Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

River parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[2][3][4]
River Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1714-1912 1714-1912 1715-1928 1715-1928 1714-1936 1714-1936

Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Census records[edit | edit source]

River Census Returns 1841-1891

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Local Family History Centre[edit | edit source]

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 676-679. Date accessed: 06 May 2013.
  2. 'Canterbury baptism records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 11 November 2013.
  3. 'Canterbury marriage records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 14 November 2013.
  4. 'Canterbury burial records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 14 November 2013.