To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Rochester Precincts of the Cathedral Church of Christ and the Blessed Virgin Mary, Kent Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Rochester Precincts of the Cathedral Church of Christ and the Blessed Virgin Mary

Guide to Rochester Cathedral Precincts, Kent ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Rochester Precincts of the Cathedral Church of Christ and the Blessed Virgin Mary, Kent
Type Cathedral
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Rochester City
County Kent
Poor Law Union Not Applicable
Registration District Medway
Records begin
Parish registers: 1633
Bishop's Transcripts: 1814
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not Applicable
Diocese Rochester
Province Canterbury
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

The area surrounding the Cathedral and its precincts was an extra parochial area. See Rochester Cathedral Church of Christ and the Blessed Virgin Mary, Kent for the Cathedral Church.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Medway Registration District

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House (Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Rochester Precincts of the Cathedral Church of Christ and the Blessed Virgin Mary

Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, non conformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records.

Census records[edit | edit source]

See Census returns for Rochester 1841-1891

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

To access available information, first log into FamilySearch.