Royston, Cambridgeshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Royston, Cambridgeshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Royston, Cambridgeshire
Type Ancient parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Odsey(Hertfordshire)
County Cambridgeshire, England Genealogy
Poor Law Union Royston
Registration District Royston
Records begin
Parish registers: 1662
Bishop's Transcripts: 1629; 1802
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Buntingford
Diocese Pre-1845 - None; Post-1844 - Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Ely
Location of Archive
Cambridgeshire Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

ROYSTON (St. John the Baptist), a market-town and parish, and the head of a union, partly in the hundred of Armingford, county of Cambridge, but chiefly in the hundred of Odsey, county of Hertford, 19 miles N by E from Hertford, and 38 N from London. The church was originally that of the priory, and dedicated to St. Thomas à Becket, but was purchased by the inhabitants at the dissolution of the monastery, and by an act passed in the 32nd of Henry VIII., is called the parochial church of St. John the Baptist. There are places of worship for the Society of Friends and Independents. [1]

Because the parish of Royston is mainly in the county of Hertfordshire, see Royston, Hertfordshire for more information.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Royston parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Cam BTs = England, Cambridgeshire Bishop's Transcripts, 1599-1860 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
FMP = Cambridgeshire Baptism, Marriage, Burial Indexes (FindMyPast) - ($)
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - free
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes (FindMyPast) - free
ANC = Ancestry - ($)
Royston Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
Cam BTs 1599-1860
1599-1860
1599-1860
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FMP 1538-1950
1538-1973
1538-1950
NBI



1538-1939
BOYD

1538-1850


ANC 1538-1975
1538–1973
1538-1991

To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Copies of parish registers are also available through the Society of Genealogists and the Cambridge Archives.

Because the parish of Royston is mainly in the county of Hertfordshire, see Royston, Hertfordshire for more records.

Non Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]

Cambridge non conformist records

Society of Friends(Royston)

Society of Friends (Hitchin)

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.



Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cambridgeshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Royston on GENUKI

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 707-711. Date accessed: 10 July 2013.