Rumboldswyke, Sussex Genealogy
Guide to Rumboldswyke, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Hundred||Box and Stockbridge|
|Poor Law Union||Westhampnett|
|Parish registers: 1670|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1610|
|Probate Court||Court of the Peculiar of the Dean of Chichester|
|Location of Archive|
|Sussex Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
RUMBOLD'S-WYKE (St. Rumbald), a parish, in the union of West Hampnett, hundred of Box and Stockbridge, rape of Chichester, W. division of Sussex. This is a small parish adjoining Chichester, and includes part of the suburb called Hornett. A branch of the Arundel and Portsmouth canal, to Chichester, passes through its western portion.The church is a neat building in the later English style.
The Church of St Mary (formerly St Rumbold) was declared redundant in 1994 and the building was converted for use by the Diocesan Architect see Sussex Parish Churches for history of the church Chichester St Mary Rumboldswyke
The church has been designated as a grade B listed building British listed building
The parish became part of Whyke with Rumboldswyke & Portsfield but later was merged into Chichester parish.
See also Chichester Wikipedia
Other places of worship in Whyke with Rumboldswhyke & Portsfield include All Saints, Portsfield
Cemetery Chapel, Portsfield
Christian Scientist Chapel
St George, Whyke
United Methodist Church
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
From 1837 this parish was in the Westhmpnett registration district From 1935 this became part of Chichester registration district
Certificates can be ordered from West Sussex
Centralised Certificates Office
West Sussex Record Office
Phone: 01243 642122
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Rumboldswyke, Sussex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)|
|IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free|
|PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)|
|PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)|
|RUMBOLDSWYKE PARISH Online Records|
|PRTS||1613-1639, 1663-1904||1613-1902||1613-1640, 1663-1901|
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Rumboldswyke
Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]
- 1717 England & Wales, Roman Catholics, 1717 at FindMyPast ($), index and images
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
See Sussex Census
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 711-716. Date accessed: 30 September 2013
- 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county', Origins.net (Wayback Machine), accessed 30 December 2013.
- Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Sussex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 2 January 2014.
- Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes.
- 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 15 December 2013.