Rusk County, Texas Genealogy
Guide to Rusk County Texas ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Rusk County, Texas|
Location in the state of Texas, United States Genealogy
Location of Texas in the U.S.
|Founded||16 January, 1843|
|Address||Rusk County Courthouse|
PO Box 758
Henderson, TX 75653
- 1 County Information
- 2 History
- 3 Places / Localities
- 4 Resources
- 5 Societies and Libraries
- 6 Websites
- 7 References
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
The County was named for Thomas Jefferson Rusk, a secretary of war of the Republic of Texas. The County is located in the east-central area of the state.
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Rusk County Courthouse
PO Box 758;
Henderson, TX 75653;
County Clerk has birth and death records from 1903,
marriage, land and probate records from 1843, court
records from 1844 and military discharge records from 1917;
District Court has divorce Court has divorce records from 1844
P.O. Box 758
115 N. Main Ste. 301
Rusk County, Texas Record Dates[edit | edit source]
General compliance by the 1930s.
History[edit | edit source]
Parent County[edit | edit source]
1843-- Rusk County was created 16 January 1843 from Nacogdoches County.
- County seat: Henderson 
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
1878--Courthouse and many county records were destroyed by fire in March 1878.
Places / Localities[edit | edit source]
Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:
‡This populated place also has portions in an adjacent county or counties
Neighboring Counties[edit | edit source]
Resources[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.
|Tombstone Transcriptions Online||Tombstone Transcriptions in Print||List of Cemeteries in the county|
|FindAGrave||Family History Library||FindAGrave|
|BillionGraves (name)||Cemeteries of TX|
|GenWeb Archives||Texas Cemeteries|
|Names in Stone||FamilySearch Places|
|See Texas Cemeteries for more information.|
Census[edit | edit source]
Church[edit | edit source]
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death/burial date and place. For general information about Texas denominations, view the Texas Church Records wiki page.
List of Churches and Church Parishes
Court[edit | edit source]
Land[edit | edit source]
After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions, including deeds and mortgages, have been recorded by the county. You can obtain copies of these land records by writing to the county clerk at the county courthouse. For more information, see Texas Land and Property.
The FamilySearch Catalog lists microfilm copies of deeds, trust deeds, and mortgages of many counties.
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
Local histories are available for Rusk County, Texas Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Texas Local Histories.
Maps[edit | edit source]
- Texas Land Survey Maps for Rusk County, Texas Genealogy (land patent maps) at HistoryGeo.com ($). Free surname search.
- Texas Counties Map. Click on the county to go to the Texas Genweb site
- 1914 Map of Angelina, Gregg, Harrison, Cherokee, Houston, Nacogdoches, Panola, Rusk, San Augustine, Shelby, Smith & Trinity at www.rootsweb.com
- FamilySearch Places:Cities and Towns- How to Use FS Places
Military[edit | edit source]
Mexican-American War[edit | edit source]
- 1845 - 1848 - US American Volunteer Soldiers Mexican War 1845-1848 at Ancestry.com — index $
Civil War[edit | edit source]
- 1861 - 1865 - Texas, Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- 1861 - 1865 - Texas, Civil War Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
World War I[edit | edit source]
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Rusk County, Texas Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:
- TX Newspaper Abstracts (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
Probate[edit | edit source]
Probate records of Texas, United States Genealogy have been kept by the probate clerk in each county courthouse. You can obtain copies of the records from the clerk's office. In most counties, all information pertaining to a probate case is recorded in the "probate minutes."
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their places of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records.
See the Wiki page Texas Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.
Online Probate Records
- 1800 – 1990 Texas Probate Records 1800-1990 at FamilySearch — images
- 1800 – 2000 Texas Wills and Probate Records 1800-2000 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
Taxation[edit | edit source]
Texas tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Texas Taxation.
- 1846-1910 Texas, County Tax Rolls 1846-1910 at findmypast ($) — index and images
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Certified birth and death certificates or birth and death verifications can be ordered online or by mail at the Texas Vital Records State Department of Health. Copies can also be obtained from the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred and are often less expensive. You can also order them online through a third party company.
See Texas Vital Records for more information about Vital records in Texas.
Birth[edit | edit source]
Online Birth Indexes and Records
- 1840-1981 Texas, Births and Christenings, 1840-1981 - FamilySearch
- 1903-1935 Texas, Birth Certificates, 1903-1935 (images and index) - FamilySearch
- 1903-1997 Texas Birth Index, 1903-1997 (index)- FamilySearch
- 1926-1995 Texas Births, 1926 - 1995 at MyHeritage ($) — index
Marriage[edit | edit source]
Online Marriage Indexes and Records
- 1802-2010 Texas, United States Marriages at FindMyPast — index $
- 1814-1909 and 1966 - 2011 Texas Marriage Collection 1814-1909 and 1966-2011 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1837-1965 Texas, County Marriage Records, 1837-1965 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1837-1973 Texas, Marriages, 1837-1973 at FamilySearch — index
- 1837-1977 Texas, County Marriage Index, 1837-1977 at FamilySearch — index
- 1837-1977 Texas Select County Marriage Index 1837-1977 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1966-2010 Texas, Marriages, 1966-2010 - FamilySearch record collection
- 1966-2016 Texas Marriages and Divorces at MyHeritage ($) — index
Death[edit | edit source]
Online Death Indexes and Records
- 1890-1976 Texas Death Records 1890 – 1976 [with images]
Name index and images of statewide death certificates, 1890-1976. The name index has been created by Family Search and is tied to images of the Texas death certificates. Few certificates are available prior to 1903.
- 1903-1973 Texas Deaths and Burials 1903-1973 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1903-1982 Texas Death Certificates 1903-1982 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1964-1998 Texas Death Index 1964 to 1998 [no images] Name index to Texas Statewide Death Certificates or four million people who have died since 1964.
- 1977-1986 Texas Deaths 1977-1986 at FamilySearch.org — index
Divorce[edit | edit source]
- 1968-2005 Texas Divorce Records 1968 - 2005 (index) - Hidden Ancestors
- 1968-2010 Texas Divorce Index 1968-2010 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1968-2011 Texas Divorces 1968-2011 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1966-2016 Texas Marriages and Divorces at MyHeritage ($) — index
Societies and Libraries[edit | edit source]
Rusk County Genealogical Society (non-active)
PO Box 1314
Henderson TX 75653
East Texas Genealogical Society
PO Box 6967
Tyler TX 75711-6967
German-Texan Heritage Society
PO Box 684171
Austin, TX 78768
Telephone Number: 512-482-0927
East Texas Research Center
Stephen F. Austin State University
East Texas Research Center
Box 13055, SFA Station
Nacogdoches, TX 75962-3055
Telephone Number: 936-468-4100
Rusk County Library
106 East Main Street
Henderson, TX 75652
Telephone Number: 903-657-8557
The East Texas Research Center is located on the second floor of R. W. Steen Library on the Stephen F. Austin State University Campus.
Monday-Friday 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Saturday 10:00 a.m. - 6.00 p.m.
Special hours for intercessions and university holidays are listed on the Library Hours page. Before making a trip from out of town, it is best to check to be sure the East Texas Research Center will be open.
Henderson Area Chamber of Commerce
201 North Main Street
Henderson, Tx 75652
Telephone Number: 903-657-5528 fax: 903-657-9454
National Society of the Daughters of the American Revolution
Some District IV Chapters:
Nacogdoches Chapter, Nacogdoches, Texas
Major Thaddeus Beall Chapter, Jacksonville, Texas
Mary Tyler Chapter, Tyler, Texas
Daughters of the Republic of Texas
Some District IV Chapters:
John Tilley Edwards Chapter, Longview, Texas
Stone Fort Chapter, Nacogdoches, Texas
Charles G. Davenport Chapter, Tyler, Texas
Fort Houston Chapter, Palestine, Texas
Texas State Library and Archives Commission
PO Box 12927
Austin, TX 78711
1201 Brazos St
+The Sam Houston Center
FM 1011 off Hwy 146
Monday through Friday 8am-5pm
and Saturday 9am-4pm
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Libraries
Note: These are physical locations, Family History Centers do not respond to mail queries.
* Tyler Texas
1617 Shiloh Road
Tyler, TX 75703-2437
Tyler, Smith County, Texas, United States
Hours: T 10am-2pm, 6:30-8pm; W 6pm-8pm; Th 6:30pm-8pm; Sat 10am-2pm.
* Longview, Texas
1700 Blueridge Parkway
Longview, TX 75605
Longview, Gregg/Harrison County, Texas, United States
Hours: M, Sat 9am-5pm; T-Th 6:30pm-8:30pm; Sat 9am-5pm
* Gilmer Texas
1122 West Pine Street
Gilmer, TX 75644-3238
Gilmer, Upshur County, Texas, United States
Hours: M,T,Th,F 9am-1pm, W 6pm-8pm; Sun 10am-4pm according to staff availability.
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Rusk County TXGenWeb
- TXGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the county.
- FamilySearch Catalog — The catalog is genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) This catalog is different than the indexed Historical Records.
References[edit | edit source]
- Wikipedia contributors, "Rusk, Texas" in "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rusk_County,_Texas. accessed 11/25/2019
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Rusk County, Texas. Page 673 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Rusk County, Texas . Page 658-677 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 655-665.
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- Wikipedia contributors, "Rusk County, Texas," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rusk_County,_Texas, Last accessed 22 August 2019.