Rusper, Sussex Genealogy
Guide to Rusper, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Horsham|
|Parish registers: 1560|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1571|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Chichester|
|Location of Archive|
|Sussex Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
RUSPER (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Horsham, hundred of Singlecross, rape of Bramber, W. division of Sussex, 5¼ miles (N. N. E.) from Horsham. The parish is bounded on the north by the county of Surrey. It is pleasingly diversified with hill and dale. The church is in the early and later English styles, and contains several ancient brasses and interesting monuments. Here are some slight remains of a priory of Black nuns, founded by Gervase of Canterbury, who flourished in the reign of Richard I.; it was dedicated to St. Mary Magdalene.
Rusper is a village and civil parish in the Horsham district of West Sussex Rusper Wikipedia Part of the Ancient Parish boudary froms part of the county boundary with neighbouring Capel, Surrey and Newdigate, Surrey
Rusper St Mary Magdalene is the parish church of the Ancient Parish and Sussex Parish Churches has the history of the church Rusper St Mary Magdalene
The Parish Church of St Mary Magdalene High Street Rusper has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building
Other places of worship include
The Anglican parish of Colgate St Savior was formed from this parish see Colgate St Savior Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC)
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
From 1837 this parish was in the Horsham registration district
Certificates can be ordered from West Sussex Centralised Certificates Office
West Sussex Record Office
Phone: 01243 642122
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Rusper, Sussex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free|
|PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)|
|Rusper, Sussex Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Rusper
Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]
- 1717 England & Wales, Roman Catholics, 1717 at FindMyPast ($), index and images
Census Records[edit | edit source]
FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
Category:England Family History Centres to locate local Family History Centres in UK
Introduction to Family History Centers to locate outside UK.
Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.
Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)
The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 717-719. Date accessed: 30 September 2013
- Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Sussex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 2 January 2014.
- 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 15 December 2013.