To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Russell Parish, Virginia

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

United States  Gotoarrow.png  Virginia  Gotoarrow.png  Russell Parish

History[edit | edit source]

Russell Parish has served Bedford, Campbell, and Franklin counties. St. Stephen's Episcopal Church in Bedford County, established about 1824, belonged to this parish.[1]

Founded[edit | edit source]

Boundary[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Cemetery[edit | edit source]

See Patterson in Parish Records.

Parish History[edit | edit source]

Meade's 1861 history of Russell Parish is available online.[3]

  • Blunt, Ruth Homes. "The Little Anglican Church on the Hill," Lynchburg Historical Society, Vol. 7, No. 1 (1969). Available at Virginia Historical Society.

Parish Records[edit | edit source]

Colonial parish registers do not survive. For later registers, see:

  • Patterson, Helen Strange. St. Stephen's Episcopal Church of Bedford County, Forest, Virginia, Historical Records & Registers from 1824 to 1915; Cemetery Records from 1824 to 1980. Forest, Va.: Historical Records Committee, St. Stephen's Episcopal Church, 1983. FHL Book 975.5675 K2p.

Petitions[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. John Frederick Dorman, "Review of St. Stephen's Episcopal Church of Bedford County, Forest, Virginia ...," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 28, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1984):57. Digital version at [http://www.americanancestors.org/search.aspx?Ca=098& Da=285 American Ancestors] ($). FHL Book 975.5 B2vg v. 28 (1984)
  2. Freddie Spradlin, "Parishes of Virginia," VAGenWeb, accessed 29 January 2011; Hening's Statutes at Large; Emily J. Salmon and Edward D.C. Campbell Jr., The Hornbook of Virginia History (Richmond: Library of Virginia, 1994).
  3. William Meade, Old Churches, Ministers and Families of Virginia, 2 vols. (Philadelphia: J.B. Lippincott and Co., 1861). Digital versions at Internet Archive: Vol. I and Vol. II.