Rye, Sussex Genealogy
Guide to Rye, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Rye|
|Parish registers: 1538|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1606|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Lewes|
|Location of Archive|
|Sussex Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
RYE (St. Mary), a cinque-port, borough, market-town, and parish, having separate jurisdiction, and the head of a union, locally in the hundred of Gostrow, rape of Hastings, E. division of Sussex, 63 miles (S. E. by E.) from London. 
A history of the Parish church is available from Sussex Parish churches Rye St Mary
The Parish church of St Mary has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building
The church, begun in the 12th century, has a famous 16th century clock with an 18-foot pendulum. Instead of striking the hour, a pair of gilded cherubs strike the quarters. Inside the church are stained glass windows from the firm of William Morris.
Rye Harbor Holy Spirit was a chapelry within this parish created in 1850 Rye Harbor
Other places of worship include
Congregational Independent Chapel
Former Augustine Chapel
Former Baptist Church
Former Carmelite Chapel
Former Chapel Bridge Street
Former Congregational Church
Kingdom Hall Jehovahs Witnesses
Methodist Church 1852-1939-1945 see Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC)
Methodist Church dates from 1900 Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC) includes IGI Batch
St Anthony of Padua (Roman Catholic) Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC)
See also Rye East Sussex Wikipedia
A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 719-725. here
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
From 1837 this parish was within Rye Registration district, from 1935 this was incorporated into Battle Registration district
Certiificates may be obtained from
East Sussex County Council
The Register Office
Phone: 01323 464780
Fax: 01323 431386
Church records[edit | edit source]
Rye, Sussex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)|
|SOPC = Sussex Online Parish Clerks - free|
|Rye, Sussex Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Rye
The East and West Sussex Record offices also have deposited Parish Registers.
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.
Occupations[edit | edit source]
Rye Apprentices 1602-1645. A list of apprentices giving date, name, master, trade and reference. Article to be found in Sussex Family Historian vol.6, Sept 1974, pages 164-169, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 B2su
Rye Apprentices 1602-1645 Part 2, A list of apprentices giving date, name of Apprentice, name of Master, Trade and Reference. in Sussex Family Historian vol.7, Dec. 1974 pages 192-195, Family History Library Ref. 942.25 B2su
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 719-725. Date accessed: 30 September 2013
- 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 30 December 2013.
- Sussex Online Parish Clerks, accessed 7 January 2014.
To access available information, first log into FamilySearch.