Säffle Parish, Värmland, Sweden Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Säffle parish, Sweden)
Jump to navigation Jump to search


Guide to Säffle Parish, Sweden ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Säffle Church

History[edit | edit source]

Säffle Municipality is a municipality in Värmland County in west central Sweden and its seat is located in the city of Säffle.
Säffle was the last local government unit in Sweden to get the title of a city, in 1951. In 1952 the system with different types of municipalities was made obsolete, but it formally existed until 1971. The present municipality was created in 1971, when the city merged with the surrounding rural municipalities.
The municipality covers a peninsula in Lake Vänern (Värmlandsnäs), and has a large fresh water archipelago.
[1]

Säffle Parish, Värmland, Sweden Genealogy
Jurisdictions
Stift Karlstad
Pastorat 1911-1942 By
1943-1961 Säffle, Bro, Södra Ny and Huggenäs
1962- Säffle och Tveta
Län Värmland
Landskap Värmland
Härad Näs
Tingslag 1911-1947 Näs
1948-1970 Södersysslet
Domsaga 1971- Arvika
Fögderi 1943-1966 Södersysslet
1967- Säffle
Kommun 1943-1970 Säffle Stad
1971- Arvika
Militär indelning add here
NAD Ref Code SE/VA/13069
National Archive SVAR link
Swedish Wikipedia link
SCB Congregation map link
Open Street map link


Place Names:[edit | edit source]

Säffle is a city and as such is devided into "Kvarterer", "Tomter", and "Deler"


To see what kind of place it is you will need a Swedish Gazetteer.

  • Surrounding Parishes


Collections[edit | edit source]

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Online Database Church Records[edit | edit source]

The easiest way to access the Swedish Church Records is through the internet, using these five sites (see links to specific collections below). Four of these sites require a subscription for access. (ArkivDigital, Ancestry.com, and MyHeritage.com are available at a FamilyHistory Center near you free of charge.)

Help Using ArkivDigital: Online Databases for Sweden[edit | edit source]

These lessons will teach you how to use ArkivDigital:

Family History Library Records[edit | edit source]

Click Sweden, Värmland Records for a full listing of microfilmed records (some digitized online) at the Family History Library, that may be digitized. Check back occasionally to see if your records have become available. In the meantime, some of them might be available at a Family History Center near you.
Click on "Places within Sweden, Värmland and then select your parish.

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Related Sources[edit | edit source]

Help Reading Swedish Records[edit | edit source]

Help Reading Old Handwriting[edit | edit source]

Help With Research Objectives and Strategies[edit | edit source]

Sweden Research Strategies

References[edit | edit source]