Södra Finnskoga Parish, Värmland, Sweden Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search


Guide to Södra Finnskoga Parish, Sweden ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Södra Finnskoga Church

History[edit | edit source]

(write information such as: how old the parish is, interesting facts about the parish, what alternate names it has, or any boundary changes.)

Södra Finnskoga Parish, Värmland, Sweden Genealogy
Jurisdictions
Stift Karlstad
Pastorat 1831-1873 (Norra) Ny
1873-1923 Södra Finnskoga and Norra Finnskoga
1923- Södra Finnskoga
Län Värmland
Landskap Värmland
Härad Älvdal
Tingslag 1831-1951 Älvdals övre
1952-1970 Älvdal och Nyed
Domsaga 1971- Sunne
Fögderi 1831-1885 Norrsysslet
1886-1966 Älvdal
1967- Sunne
Kommun 1863-1951 Södra Finnskoga
1952-1973 Finnskoga-Dalby
1974- Torsby
Militär indelning Nya Ordin. Soldat-Roteringen


Place Names[edit | edit source]

Adinaå, Arnestorp, Avundsåsen, Avundsåsen Sätern

Backsjöberget, Balkåsen, Bengtsberget Galåsen, Bengtsberget Stommen, Bjurberget, Bjurberget Mångslidberget, Blindhanstorp, Bograngen, Bograngsberget, Branäs Norra Lillberget, Bråten

Djäkneliden, Dypåsen Kindsjön, Dypåsen Uggenäs

Falltorp, Filipstorp

Galåsen Bengtsberget, Galåsen Långav, Galåsen Norra, Galåsen Norra Persbyn, Galåsen Södra, Gransjön Östra, Grossmossbäcken, Gråberget, Gunneby Letteråsen

Husketorpet, Högfallet, Högåsen

Juberget, Järpberget, Järpliden

Kananstorp, Kindsjön, Kindsjön Dypåsen, Kindsjöberget Västra, Kindsjöberget Östra, Kneppa, Koltorp, Kompoberget, Kringsberget

Letafors Bruk Herrgården, Letafors Manufakturverket, Letafors Stångjärnsgården, Liden, Lillberget Möre, Lillberget Norra Branäs, Lillbergsgården Letteråsen, Lillnäset, Långav Galåsen, Långtjärnsknappen

Mackartjärn, Mackartjärn Mångslidberget, Manufakturverket Letafors, Maritstorp, Medskogen, Medskogen Sätern, Melljuvberget, Mångslidberget, Mångslidberget Bjurberget, Mångslidberget Mackartjärn, Möre Lillberget, Mörttjärnsberget

Nolgården, Noppaå, Norra Branäs, Norra Galåsen, Norra Persby Galåsen, Norra Sundtorp, Norra Vålberget, Nytorp

Possåsen, Prästgården

Rangen, Rickenberg, Röjden

Skallbäcken, Skrockerberget, Skuggaberget, Slätte, Stommen Bengtsberget, Stångjärnverket Letafors, Sundtorp Norra, Sundtorp Södra, Svartberget, Sängaå, Säterberget, Sätern Avundsåsen, Sätern Medskogen, Södra Galåsen, Södra Sundtorp, Södra Transtrand, Södra Vålberget

Tolgraven, Transtrand Södra

Uggenäs, Uggenäs Dypµsen, Urbanusberget

Vålberget, Vålberget Norra, Vålberget Södra, Vålberget Västra, Våtsjötorp, Västra Kindsjöberget, Västra Vålberget, Västra Åberget, Åberget Västra, Åberget Östra

Älgsjön

Örsjöberget, Östra Kindsjöberget, Östra Åberget

To see what kind of place it is you will need a Swedish Gazetteer.

  • Surrounding Parishes


Collections[edit | edit source]

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Online Database Church Records[edit | edit source]

The easiest way to access the Swedish Church Records is through the internet, using these five sites (see links to specific collections below). Four of these sites require a subscription for access. (ArkivDigital, Ancestry.com, and MyHeritage.com are available at a FamilyHistory Center near you free of charge.)

Help Using ArkivDigital: Online Databases for Sweden[edit | edit source]

These lessons will teach you how to use ArkivDigital:

Family History Library Records[edit | edit source]

Click Sweden, Värmland Records for a full listing of microfilmed records (some digitized online) at the Family History Library, that may be digitized. Check back occasionally to see if your records have become available. In the meantime, some of them might be available at a Family History Center near you.
Click on "Places within Sweden, Värmland and then select your parish.

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Related Sources[edit | edit source]

Help Reading Swedish Records[edit | edit source]

Help Reading Old Handwriting[edit | edit source]

Help With Research Objectives and Strategies[edit | edit source]

Sweden Research Strategies

References:[edit | edit source]

Södra Finnskoga Husförhörslängd 1837-1844 Ortregister