Sölvesborg Landsförsamlingen Parish, Blekinge, Sweden Genealogy
Guide to Sölvesborg: Landsförsamling parish, Sweden Genealogy ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
- 1 History
- 2 Place Names
- 3 Surrounding Parishes
- 4 Collections
- 4.1 Census Records
- 4.2 Church Records
- 4.3 Military Records
- 4.4 Related Sources
- 4.5 Societies and Libraries
- 4.6 Help Reading Swedish Records
- 4.7 Help Reading Old Handwriting
- 4.8 Help With Research Objectives and Strategies
- 4.9 References
History[edit | edit source]
In 1868 Sölvesborg Landsförsamling was created from Sölvesborg Stadsförsamling. In 1951 Sölvesborg Landsförsamling was dissolved and combined with the Stadsförsamling.
Before 1880 the places of Ynde and Valjö were transfered from Blekinge län to Kristianstads län, the word län means county in English. Up to 1889 the main part of the parish was in Blekinge län except for the areas of Ynde and Valjö that belonged to Kristianstads län. As of Jan. 1, 1890 the areas of Ynde and Valjö were transferred over to Blekinge län. From 1890 - 1950 the entire parish belonged to Blekinge län. More information on the history is found on the Wikipedia page listed here.
|Sölvesborg Landsförsamlingen Parish, Blekinge, Sweden Genealogy|
|Härad||1868-1950 Lister hd|
|Domsaga||1682-1970 Lister and Sölvesborgs domsaga|
|Fögderi||1868-1885 Bräkne and Lister|
|Kommun||1868-1950 Sölvesborgs landskommun|
1971- Sölvesborgs kommun
|Militär indelning||Blekinge Båtsmanskompanier|
|NAD Ref Code||SE/LLA/13397|
|National Archive SVAR||link|
|SCB Congregation map||link|
|Open Street map||link|
Place Names[edit | edit source]
Sissebäck, Skanshuset, Slättahuset, Skogshuset, Slottet, Sölve, Sölvesborg,
Surrounding Parishes[edit | edit source]
Collections[edit | edit source]
Census Records[edit | edit source]
- Sweden Household Examination Records (Husförhörslängder)--explanation of this church record which is functionally the census of Sweden.
- Sweden Household Examination Books, 1880 - 1920, ($), index and images. Also on Ancestry.com, ($), Arkiv Digital ($), and SVAR at Riksarkivet.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Online Database Church Records[edit | edit source]
The easiest way to access the Swedish Church Records is through the internet, using these five sites (see links to specific collections below). Four of these sites require a subscription for access. (ArkivDigital, Ancestry.com, and MyHeritage.com are available at a FamilyHistory Center near you free of charge.)
- Sweden, Blekinge Church Records, 1612-1916; index 1646-1860 at FamilySearch.
- MyHeritage.com ($),
- Ancestry.com ($),
- Arkiv Digital ($), and
- SVAR at Riksarkivet.
Help Using ArkivDigital: Online Databases for Sweden[edit | edit source]
- These lessons will teach you how to use ArkivDigital:
Family History Library Records[edit | edit source]
Click Sweden, Blekinge Records for a full listing of microfilmed records (some digitized online) at the Family History Library, that may be digitized. Check back occasionally to see if your records have become available. In the meantime, some of them might be available at a Family History Center near you.
Click on "Places within Sweden, Blekinge" and then select your parish.
Military Records[edit | edit source]
- Sweden Military Records
- Central Soldiers Register Instructions Search Engine
- Blekinge Boatsmen 3rd Company (before 1845)
- Blekinge Boatsmen 6th Company (after 1845)
Related Sources[edit | edit source]
- Solvesborg Parish and Township at Ostkanten
- Sölvesborg Parish Map 1870
- Blekinge and Södra Möre Boatsmen - Sölvesborg Parish
- The Central Soldiers Register
- Blekinge Båtsmansregister
Societies and Libraries[edit | edit source]
Help Reading Swedish Records[edit | edit source]
- You do not have to be fluent in Swedish to read these records! They have a limited vocabulary: mother, father, born, bride, groom, married, etc. The rest of the content will be names, dates, and places, which do not need translation.
- This Swedish Word List covers typical terms found in the records.
- Swedish Historical Dictionary Database, SHDD: This interactive dictionary allows you to enter a word in the search box and receive the translation.
- Feast Day Calendar (Moveable) and Feast Day Lists (Fixed and Moveable) will help you translate dates written in feast day form.
- Sweden surnames are patronymic and change every generation, so carefully study Sweden Names, Personal.
- For help with reading the column headings found in more recent records, see Swedish Parish Register and Household Exam Roll Headings.
- Instructions, document examples, and translations are given for Reading Swedish Birth and Christening Records 1717, 1752, 1771, 1792, 1803, 1834, 1854.
Help Reading Old Handwriting[edit | edit source]
- Reading Scandinavian Gothic Handwritten Records: (free, online lessons at FamilySearch):
Help With Research Objectives and Strategies[edit | edit source]
- First find the birth and baptism record of your ancestor. Once you know his date and place of birth and his parents' names, you can locate the family in the Household Examination Records.
- Search every Household Examination Record that your ancestor appears on (from birth to death). You will pick up valuable clues along the way, find children who died young, and establish correct family member relationships.
- All birth, marriage, or death dates found in Household Examination Records need to be verified in the actual birth, marriage, or death records.
- Pay attention to relationship titles, occupations, military status, and remarks. See word list for Vocabulary for Household Examination Records.
- Dates are written in the European order of day, month, and year.
See Sweden Research Strategies for locating various records in specific time periods.
References[edit | edit source]
Skatteverket. "Sölvesborgs landsförsamling" Förteckning (Sveriges församlingar genom tiderna). March 2011 Sveriges församlingar genom tiderna