Sørfjord Parish, Troms, Norway Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Sørfjord, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

Sørfjord Parish
Jurisdictions
Stift/Bispedømme/
Diocese
add here
Prosti add here
Len 1599-1660 Nordlandene
Amt 1689-1919 1660-1789: Nordlandene, 1789-1866: Finmmarken, 1866-1919: Tromsø
Fylke 1919-Present Troms
Region add here
Prestegjeld Lyngen
Kommune add here
Skifteretten add here
Tinglag Lyngen
Fogderi Senja og Tromsø
Sorenskriveri Lyngen
Skipreide add here


Church Records[edit | edit source]

Sørfjord parish is in Lyngen clerical district from 1756 when the records begin. For the years 1861 to 1871, Sørfjord parish has records in Karlsøy clerical district.

Parish heading list shows the Norwegian headings on the parish records with an English translations for each of the different forms used throughout the records beginning in 1814. Prior to that time the records were kept in a journal format which varies with each parish.

Digital images of the church books are online at Digitalarkivet.

Census Records[edit | edit source]

  • 1801, 1875, 1891, 1900, 1910 see Lyngen clerical district.


Court Records[edit | edit source]

Land Records[edit | edit source]

Farm Books[edit | edit source]

Farm Names[edit | edit source]

106 Bentsnes, 134 Bergenes, 137 Breivik,

116 Flatvolden,

117 Helland, 108 Hjellnes, 112 Holmebugten, 113 Hundberget,

107 Jøvik,

128 Kvalberget,

120 Lakselven indre, 114 Lakselven ytre, 131 Lavangen indre,

136 Nakken, 124 Nordstrømmen,

110 Olderbakken,

135 Reiervik, 130 Sjursnes, 122 Sjøvasbotn, 119 Skjaaberget, 126 Skognes, 127 Skognesbugten, 132 Skrevolden, 129 Sommerbugten, 118 Sommernes, 111 Stakkenes, 125 Stordalen, 123 Storsteinnes, 109 Strømsnes, 105 Svensby, 121 Sørstrømmen,

115 Tomasnes

Genealogy[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

1690-1866 Tromsø judicial district.

1776-1809 Troms County judicial district.

1697-1824 Troms and Senja deanery.

References[edit | edit source]

Oluf Rygh: Norwegian Farm Names