Sørreisa Parish, Troms, Norway Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Sørreisa, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

Sørreisa Parish
Jurisdictions
Stift/Bispedømme/
Diocese
add here
Prosti add here
Len 1599-1660 Nordlandene
Amt 1689-1919 1660-1789: Nordlandene, 1789-1866: Finmmarken, 1866-1919: Tromsø
Fylke 1919-Present Troms
Region add here
Prestegjeld Tranøy
Kommune add here
Skifteretten add here
Tinglag Tranøy
Fogderi Senja og Tromsø
Sorenskriveri Senjen
Skipreide add here


Church Records[edit | edit source]

Sørreisa is a parish in Tranøy clerical district. Records begin in 1744.

Parish heading list shows the Norwegian headings on the parish records with an English translations for each of the different forms used throughout the records beginning in 1814. Prior to that time the records were kept in a journal format which varies with each parish.

Digitahttps://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/Special:MyPage/Sandboxl images of the church books are online at Digitalarkivet.

Census Records[edit | edit source]

  • 1663-1666, 1701, 1801, 1865, 1875 see Tranøy clerical district.

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Land Records[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

1706-1877 Senja judicial district.

1776-1809 Troms County judicial district.

1697-1824 Troms and Senja deanery.

Farm Books[edit | edit source]

  • Sørreisa bygdebok, gård og slekt by Svein Hanssen. Farm histories of Sørreisa, Troms co., Norway with vital information on farm residents. It has an index. Text in Norwegian.

Farm Names[edit | edit source]

17 Aasmoen,

27 Bakkejorden, 37 Bjørgen, 3 Blombakken, 34 Blomlien, 3 Botn,

5 Djupvaag,

27 Elvevolden,

17 Finset, 4 Forøen,

4 Gammelheimen, 13 Gottersjorden, 2 Grundreisen, 11 Grønvold mellem, 31 Gumpedalen,

3 Hegbakken, 1 Hemmingsjorden, 21 Høgli, 33 Høgmoen,

1 Kongsvik, 4 Kvænajorden,

6 Langnes, 14 Leirbogen, 28 Lyshaugen,

29 Middagsmoen, 25 Moen, 4 Myrbakken,

18 Nordhus, 16 Nordstrømmen, 34 Nymoen,

34 Paalsjorden,

22 Rabbaasen, 30 Reinakslen, 8 Reinelvmoen, 9 Rensvold, 39 Russevaag søndre, 16 Røirsletten,

7 Seljemoen, 36 Sildviken, 33 Skøelvdalen, 34 Skøelven, 32 Sletlien, 35 Smørsgaard, 38 Solberg, 15 Storflaten, 26 Storneset, 20 Sætermoen, 24 Sørforsbogen, 24 Sørforsmoen, 19 Sørhus, 26 Sørstrømmen,

3 Tømmervik,

4 Valen, 40 Vestnesklauven

Sørreisa Bygdebok Gård og Slekt

Bakkejord, Bjørga, Djupvågen, Finnset, Furøy, Gottesjord, Grunnreis, Gumpedalen, Grønvoll, Hemmimgsjord, Høgli, Klauva, Langnes, Leirbogen, Lyshaugen, Middagsmoen, Moen, Nordhus, Nordstraumen, Rabbåsen, Reinaksla, Reinelvmoen, Reinsvoll, Russevåg, Seljemoen, Sildvika, Skøelv, Skøelvdalen, Slettlia, Smørsgård, Solberg, Storflaten, Sætermo, Sørfossli, Sørfossbogen, Sørhus, Sørstraumen, Tømmervik

Genealogy[edit | edit source]

Historical Society[edit | edit source]

Sørreisa Historielag

References[edit | edit source]

Oluf Rygh: Norwegian Farm Names

-Hanssen, Svein: Sørreisa Bygdebok Gård og Slekt Bind I. Sørreisa Kommune 1994