Sacramento FamilySearch Library/Class Detail

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search


Home Classes Online Consultation Lectures & Upcoming Events How to Use Zoom Collections & Commercial Websites Volunteers



All Classes by Topic
[edit | edit source]


Ward/Stake Leadership & Consultant Classes[edit | edit source]

Stake & Ward Council Leaders: Temple & Family History Work - Phil Horner

This class will help stake and ward leaders understand their role in helping to make temple and family history a prominent focus in the life of children, youth, adults and families. Organizational principles on the stake and ward levels will be addressed.

Class Handouts
Stake & Ward Council Leaders (T&FH) Leadership Training

Upcoming Dates

  • None scheduled at this time

Temple & Family History Consultant Preparation - Laurie Markham

The goal is for the Consultants to gain a VISION and understanding of the RESPONSIBILITIES of their calling. A portion of the classes will provide an introduction to INSPIRATIONAL ACTIVITIES.

Class Handouts
T & FH Vision and Responsibilities
T & FH Consultant Activities

Upcoming Dates

  • None scheduled at this time

Zoom for Temple & Family History Consultants - Chuck Athey

The goal is to help Consultants understand how to use Zoom to assist others doing Family History.

Class Handouts
Zoom for Consultants Presentation

Upcoming Dates

  • None scheduled at this time

FamilySearch Activities (Ward Temple & Family History Consultants and Youth Consultants) - Earline Fewkes & Laurie Markham

In this training we will introduce the Activities tab on FamilySearch and explore ideas to use for Children, Youth and Adults to inspire and motivate family history in the home. These Activities are great for gathering families past and present. Don't miss this class if you are a consultant trying to reach all age groups in your ward or stake.

Class Handouts
Class Handout

Upcoming Dates

  • None scheduled at this time

Helper Resources - Laurie Markham

We will cover the "Helper Resource" part of FamilySearch.org and explore new ways to engage members and friends in family history.

Upcoming Dates


5 Minute Family History on your Mobile - George Myers

Learn how to do your family history in 5 minutes or less on your mobile device

Upcoming Dates


FamilySearch Classes[edit | edit source]

Beginning FamilySearch - Laurie Markham or Tim Fewkes

If you are not sure how to begin working on your family history this class is for you! We will learn how to sign up for the free FamilySearch.org website, how to recover your password if you have forgotten it, and simple navigation of FamilySearch.org. If you have questions you would like answered in this class, please email them ahead of the class to Laurie Markham. There will also be time at the end of the class to ask questions.

Class Handouts

FamilySearch.org 101

Upcoming Dates

Turning Hearts with Memories in FamilySearch - Allan Bosch

Adding Documents, Photos, & Audio, In this class students will learn how to add various types of memories. Making memories public or private. What makes a valuable memory. Tweaking photos to enhance memory experience. How to upload and download memories. And adding photos from "Google Photos."

Class Handouts
Adding Photos to Family Tree
Adding Stories to Family Tree
Andoid Family Tree and Memories

Previous Class Chat Transcripts
26 January 2021 AM Class

Upcoming Dates

  • None scheduled at this time

Coordinating Ancestry.com and FamilySearch.org - Allan Bosch

In this class you will learn how to use the FamilySearch tree icon and drop down menu, unlock the power of Ancestry and temple work, sync sources and compare vital information.

Upcoming Dates

  • None scheduled at this time

Family Tree Memories for devices - George Myers

Carry your family history gems with you. Learn how to use the Family Tree app to collect, preserve. and share your favorite family memories wherever you are. See new updates and high frequency items.

Class Handouts
Carry Family Memories with You

Upcoming Dates

  • None scheduled at this time

Across the Pond- Searching Ancestors in Ireland - Laurie Markham

In this class we will use information you have gathered from US sources to find your family in Ireland. Learn about free Catholic Parish records, how to decipher Irish names, Irish administrative divisions and many sites that offer online inspiration and help.

Upcoming Dates

  • None scheduled at this time

Class Handouts
Irish Research

Desktop versus Mobile app on FamilySearch - George Myers

Class Handout

Upcoming Dates

  • None scheduled at this time

FamilySearch Activities - Carol Tullis

In this training we will introduce the Activities tab on FamilySearch and explore ideas to use for Children, Youth and Adults to inspire and motivate family history in the home. These Activities are great for gathering families past and present. Don't miss this class if you are a consultant trying to reach all age groups in your ward or stake.

Upcoming Dates


FamilySearch Catalogue Workshop - Mary Sayles

Not all records are indexed on FamilySearch.org. Learn how to find those unindexed records on FamilySearch.org using the amazing FamilySearch Catalog.

Class Handouts
Handout

Upcoming Dates

  • None scheduled at this time

Finding and Merging Duplicates in FamilySearch.org - Steven Lloyd

Learn were to find and merge duplicates to create the most accurate and complete information on your family tree.

Upcoming Dates


Discovering Descendancy Research - TBD

Those with pioneer heritage may find it challenging to discover new names to take to the temple. This class will teach you effective ways to find the names of your distant cousins to take to the temple. You should have experience with using FamilySearch before taking this Class.

Class Handouts
Discovering Descendancy Research
Descendancy Class Exercise - Print Before Class

Upcoming Dates

  • None scheduled at this time

Individuals and Relationships: Add, Edit & Delete - TBD

This class will cover a variety of scenarios as information is added, edited, or deleted from within a person's Details page in FamilySearch.

Class Handouts
Individuals and Relationships

Upcoming Dates
Discovering Descendancy Research - TBD

Using the FamilySearch Wiki – TBD

The Family Search WIKI is an amazing but underused resource. It is a free tool for finding information about subjects, records that may have been generated by your ancestors, and places in which records may be found. It is like an online encyclopedia for family history research. Learn how to use this great tool to improve your own research.

Class Handouts
The FamilySearch Wiki

Upcoming Dates

  • None scheduled at this time

Finding Duplicates and Merging Records on Your Family Tree – TBD

Unfortunately we all have some duplicate records on our family trees. In this class you will learn how to find those duplicate records and then correctly merge them.

Class Handouts
Finding Duplicates and Merging Records

Upcoming Dates

  • None scheduled at this time


Discover, Gather & Connect Classes[edit | edit source]

Google: The Genealogists Best Friend - James Baker

This class demonstrates Google’s unique capability to find ancestral data that is lost to the more traditional genealogy sites. Several Google apps are discussed: Google Images; Alerts; Books; Translate; You Tube; Maps; and Search, as well as Google’s connection to Wikipedia.

Class Handouts
Class Handout

Upcoming Dates

  • None scheduled at this time

Using Google to Organize Your Photos - TBD

Part 1 Manage and organize your photos with Google Photos. Learn the three ways photos can be stored: photo library, facial recognition and albums. Learn how to navigate google photos and set up your phone to receive all photos taken and free up memory on your phone.

Class Handouts
Google Photos - Part 1

Upcoming Dates

  • None scheduled at this time

Part 2
Learn how to edit your photos, edit facial groupings and edit albums in Google Photos. Class Handouts
Google Photos - Part 2 Upcoming Dates
  • None scheduled at this time

Writing your Personal and Family Histories – TBD

Many members of the Church do not know where to begin in generating their personal or family history. This class will help you get started and teach you the basics on effective ways to write a personal or family history using both text and pictures.

Class Handouts
Writing Your Personal and Family Histories

Upcoming Dates

  • None scheduled at this time

Quick and Easy Family History Activities – TBD

This class will introduce you to some quick, easy and fun family history activities that you can do with your family. It is a great way to get started with family history.

Class Handouts
Quick and Easy Family History Activities

Upcoming Dates

  • None scheduled at this time


Indexing Classes[edit | edit source]

Best Tools for Indexing - Carol Tullis

This class is for those interested in trying Indexing for the first time and for those with lots of experience. Learn how to use the many tools available to make your indexing faster, more accurate, and more enjoyable.

Upcoming Dates

  • None scheduled at this time

Indexing - Part 1 - TBD

Indexing is a great way to help with family history. Learn how to index data, such as birth and death records, marriage certificates, census documents, etc.

Class Handouts
Indexing Terms
Indexing Helps
Indexing Guidelines
Indexing Ruler
Indexing Icons

Upcoming Dates

  • None scheduled at this time

Indexing - Part 2 - TBD

This class will teach you more about indexing and how to become a reviewer.

Class Handouts
Indexing - Part 2

Upcoming Dates

  • None scheduled at this time


Family History Research Classes[edit | edit source]

Using Existing Research to Strengthen and Extend Your Family Tree - Tim Fewkes

In this class we will explain and show by example how to use Puzzilla, Ancestry Public Member Trees, FamilySearch.org and Ancestry DNA Thru Lines to find ancestors and “cousins” and/or new supporting sources for them. In this class we will also explore Ancestry DNA Thru Lines and how to use this wonderful tool to find answers, solve mysteries and even connect with living cousins in your tree. You do not have to be a DNA expert to use DNA Thur Lines.

Upcoming Dates

  • None scheduled at this time

Research Rules and Standards - Florene Knapps

Learn the steps to correctly find, record and document each of your unique ancestors.

Upcoming Dates Class Dates/Times/Registration Links

  • None scheduled at this time

Northwest Territories and Land Speculators - Kathryn Marshall

Learn about the history of early westward migration in the US, what records were kept and how to access them.

Class Handouts
Handout

Upcoming Dates

  • None scheduled at this time

Indentured Servants and Apprentices - Kathryn Marshall

Three-quarters of immigrants who settled south of New England during the 1600-1700's came as indentured servants, convict labor or redemptioners. Learn how to find their records and the events that led to the system's creation.

Upcoming Dates


Mexican Research - Marty Puentes

Beginning Mexican research for those tracing their ancestors to a hometown in Mexico. The best sites for finding and documenting your Mexican Ancestors.

Upcoming Dates

  • None scheduled at this time

Beginning German Genealogy - Ingeborg Carpenter

Learn the basics of researching your German ancestors.

Upcoming Dates


Find Your Family Through Census Records - TBD

Country, State, and local census records track the location, family members, and many other bits of information that can often lead to profound discoveries. Learning how to find your family in them can often be a tricky task. We will talk about some of the ways to get the most out of those valuable records.

Class Handouts
Census Analysis - Part 1
Census Analysis - Part 2
US Census Headings 1790-1860
US Census Headings 1870-1930
Using the Census to Find Other Records
US-UK-Canadian Cenus Forms

Upcoming Dates

  • None scheduled at this time

Discover Family History Through Military Records - TBD

Military records can provide a wealth of information that can help you get to know your ancestors better and may even provide data found nowhere else. This class will discuss a variety of military records and how to find them.

Class Handouts
Finding Family History Through Military Records

Upcoming Dates

  • None scheduled at this time

Finding Death, Burial and Cemetery Records - TBD

Can't find a death certificate? This class will help you learn about death certificates and a variety of alternate sources for death and burial records. Each death record tells a story and may provide important clues to help you find and learn about your ancestors.

Class Handouts
Finding Death, Burial and Cemetery Records

Upcoming Dates

  • None scheduled at this time

Five Minute Family History Success - TBD

President Nelson has invited us to sacrifice a little of our time doing family history work. Even if you only have a few minutes of time, there are many family history activities you can do. This lesson will show you over twenty ways you can do a little family history every day.

Class Handouts
Five Minute Family History Successes

Upcoming Dates

  • None scheduled at this time

Crossing the Pond – Finding Emigration and Immigration Records - TBD

All of us have ancestors who arrived in the United States from another country. This class will offer help in finding your ancestors emigration, immigration, and naturalization records from early colonial times to more recent records.

Class Handouts
Crossing the Pond

Upcoming Dates

  • None scheduled at this time

Newspapers Are a Genealogical Treasure - TBD

Everyone knows obituaries are a family history treasure. This class will help you understand that newspapers can help you learn so much more about an ancestor. We will show examples of news you can find and explain how to find the right newspapers and information about newspaper websites.

Class Handouts
Newspapers are a Genealogical Treasure

Upcoming Dates

  • None scheduled at this time

Tips and Tricks for Improving Your Search Results - TBD

We can all use a little help sometimes! We will demonstrate some of my tips and tricks for improving your family history search for information about your ancestors.

Class Handouts
Tips and Tricks for Improving Your Search

Upcoming Dates

  • None scheduled at this time

Finding Your Cousins Through Descendancy Research and Puzzilla - TBD

Learn how to use Descendancy Research through Puzzilla.org and FamilySearch to expand your family tree

Class Handouts
Descendancy Research - Expand Your Family Tree

Upcoming Dates

  • None scheduled at this time

Finding Your Danish Ancestors - TBD

You don't have to speak the language to do Danish Research! In this class you will learn about how to begin searching for your Danish ancestors using key web sites to aid in Danish research. You can do it!

Class Handouts
Finding Your Danish Ancestors

Upcoming Dates

  • None scheduled at this time


Ancestry Classes[edit | edit source]

Ancestry (Intermediate) - Allan Bosch

This is an intermediate level class that will show you how to use Ancestry.com's tools, including those green leaf hints, to find people and sources to add to your family trees.

Class Handouts
Class Handout

Upcoming Dates

  • None scheduled at this time

Thru Lines! Ancestry’s Best Feature - James Baker

This class describes Ancestry’s new Thru Lines feature, which has replaced the DNA Circles feature. Examples are provided to illustrate the considerable advantages of Thru Lines, which will easily double or triple the number of matches shown for each ancestor. Ancestry makes these improvements by drawing on a wider variety of sources and blending them together to provide this enhanced capability. Thru Lines is probably Ancestry’s most effective DNA feature. Class Handout Upcoming Dates

  • None scheduled at this time

Ideas for Stepping Up Your Family History Game by Kathryn Grant - Allan Bosch

Presentation Video

Upcoming Dates

  • None scheduled at this time

Class 1 - Getting Started using Ancestry to support FamilySearch – TBD

This class will show you how to create an Ancestry account - Transfer your FamilySearch tree into your own private or public Ancestry Tree – and then a quick overview of the Ancestry website. The overview is a quick summary of the website and not a detail of any feature within the website.

Class Handouts
Getting Started with Ancestry

Upcoming Dates

  • None scheduled at this time

Class 2 - Using Ancestry to research your family – Search Tips – TBD

This class will start with an imported tree from FamilySearch and identify all the different methods of researching individuals using Ancestry: Hints – the 1 to 50 hints that show up with a tiny leaf. Search – the Ancestry search engine which might show 100,000 potential records for your person. How to validate the record, Which records are most valid, How to narrow the search, How to search specific record types, How to research using other person’s public and private trees, and How to attach all those records to your individual.

Class Handouts
Using Ancestry to research your family

Upcoming Dates

  • None scheduled at this time

Class 3 - Transferring Ancestry data to FamilySearch database – TBD

This class will demonstrate the link between Ancestry and FamilySearch and how to use this link to import data, records, and information between the two databases. This link will also demonstrate how to add more individuals to your Ancestry tree, How to generate temple cards, and to modify and change links between individuals in your tree. The class will also demonstrate how to transfer media files (pictures, and stories) between the two websites.

Class Handouts
Using Transferring Ancestry data to FamilySearch database
Upcoming Dates

  • None scheduled at this time

Class 4 - Using DNA to support Ancestry and FamilySearch – TBD

This class will start with purchasing an Ancestry DNA kit, Activation of that kit, and then connecting the DNA data to your Ancestry tree. Once you have a DNA-Ancestry tree – Details on how to use DNA to validate your tree, locate new family members, and use all the DNA features in Ancestry to support your Family Tree.

Class Handouts
Using DNA to support Ancestry and FamilySearch

Upcoming Dates

  • None scheduled at this time

Spanish Classes[edit | edit source]

Historia Familiar para Principiantes - Laura & George Myers

Esta clase ofrece los principios básicos de la investigación de historia familiar.

Class Handouts
Class Presentation

Upcoming Dates
None scheduled at this time

Historia Familiar en 5 Minutos - George Myers

Esta clase le enseña a hacer historia familiar cuando solo tiene un corto periodo de tiempo (5+/- minutos). Es una buena clase para jóvenes, líderes juveniles y cualquiera que esté ocupado.

Upcoming Dates