To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Sahyun Genealogical Library

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Sahyun Genealogical Library
Sahyun Genealogical Library

Contact Information[edit | edit source]

Email: info@sbgen.org
Website: sbgen.org
Facebook: Santa Barbara County Genealogical Society
Address: 316 Castillo Street, Santa Barbara, California
Telephone: 805-884-9909
Hours of Operation:

Sunday: 1 PM - 4 PM April 21, 2019 Easter Sunday – Closed
Tuesday 10 AM - 4PM May 12, 2019 Mother's Day – Closed
Thursday 10 AM - 4 PM June 16, 2019 Father's Day – Closed
Friday 10 AM - 4 PM July 4, 2019 Independence Day – Closed
3rd Sat AFTER General Meeting 1 PM - 4 PM August 2, 2019 Fiesta Parade – Closed
(September through July) September 1, 2019 Labor Day Weekend – Closed
November 28, 2019 Thanksgiving Weekend – Closed
(through Sunday, December 1st)
December 22, 2019 Christmas/New Year's – Closed
(reopen Thursday, January 2, 2020


Directions/Parking Map: Take the Bath Street offramp going North, or the Castillo Street offramp going South on 101.

Description of Collections[edit | edit source]

Researching the World, this is our tag line, but what does it mean?  Well, it means that the 20,000+ books, periodicals, maps, microfiche and CDs at the Sahyun Genealogical Library consist of resources to help you research most anywhere in the world.

All 50 states are represented, many counties of each state and then cities. As for the world we have a tremendous collection of books and CDs on Irish genealogy, we have the series collection of Germans to America.  Search our card catalog online and find 50 books on Italian genealogy and another 400 on Irish genealogy.  Type in map and you get 725 results, Mayflower and you get 425.

British, French, Swedish, French, Polish and on and on..........

Vital records, military records, census records, yearbooks, family histories and let's not forget Santa Barbara resources, death records, cemetery records, city directories, local school yearbooks.

This is by no means a complete list of all that is available at our extraordinary Sahyun Genealogical Library so please come visit us at 316 Castillo Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93101 Sahyun Genealogical Library

Services[edit | edit source]

History[edit | edit source]

Tips for Your Visit[edit | edit source]

Guides[edit | edit source]