Saint Mark Parish, Grenada
Guide to Saint Mark Parish family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Grenada Wiki Topics|
|Local Research Resources|
Information[edit | edit source]
Saint Mark is one of the six main* parishes of Grenada which is along the northern-west coast of the island. It is the smallest parish with a total area of just 9 sq mi (23 km2) and currently boasts a population of close to 4,000.
The parish houses the small Fishing village of Victoria, Grenada. Local activities include the Saint Mark's fiesta which showcases different produce, foods, culture, music and entertainment throughout the villages of the parish. St. Mark’s Day is still celebrated usually a few weeks after Easter in middle of the month of April.
Saint Mark's is known for having the highest mountain (or stratovolcano) on Grenada, Mount Saint Catherine rising 2,756 ft (840 m) above sea level. It also has the islands tallest waterfall, the Tufton Hall Waterfall with an approximate height of 25 metres.
History[edit | edit source]
The parish was called Grand Pauvre or Large Poor area by its original French inhabitants of 1649, and only after it was ceded to the British by the Treaty of Paris in 1763 was it renamed Saint Mark.
For a short while the small town was found abandoned during the so called revolt and insurrection of the remaining French of 1795.
* There is a seventh parish called Carriacou on the nearby island of Carriacou.