Salcey and Hartwell Lodges, Northamptonshire Genealogy
Guide to Salcey and Hartwell Lodges, Northamptonshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
| Salcey and Hartwell Lodges, Northamptonshire | |
|---|---|
| Type | Extra-parochial area (England) |
| Civil Jurisdictions | |
| Hundred | Cleley |
| County | Northamptonshire, England Genealogy |
| Poor Law Union | Potterspury |
| Registration District | Potterspury |
| Records begin | |
| Parish registers: For records see surrounding parishes | |
| Bishop's Transcripts: For records see surrounding parishes | |
| Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions | |
| Rural Deanery | Not Applicable |
| Diocese | Not Applicable |
| Legal Jurisdictions | |
| Probate Court | Search the courts of the surrounding parishes |
| Location of Archive | |
| Northamptonshire Record Office | |
Contents
Parish History[edit | edit source]
SALCEY FOREST, a royal forest on the S border of Northamptonshire; 6½ miles S S E of Northampton. It comprises 1,847 acres, 1, 121 of which are enclosed for navy timber; contains about 1,000 head of deer; and is divided into 4 walks, and governed by a warden and various other officers. Salcey Lodge, the seat of H. Fitzroy, Esq., and Hartwell Lodge, the seat of the Rev.Cursham, are within the forest, and are extra-parochial.[1]
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Salcey and Hartwell Lodges parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
| Salcey and Hartwell Lodges Online Parish Records | ||||||
| Indexes | Images | Indexes | Images | Indexes | Images | |
| FS | 1538-1975 | 1538–1973 | 1538-1991 | |||
| FREG | 1538-1900s | 1538-1900s | 1538-1900s | |||
| ANC 1 | 1532-1812 | 1532-1812 | 1532-1812 | |||
| ANC 2 | 1813-1912 | 1754-1912 | 1813-1912 | |||
| FMP | 1538-1921 | 1525-2006 | ||||
| JOIN | 1538-1837 | |||||
| NBI | 1561-2001 | |||||
| IGI | ||||||
| FS Catalog PRs | ||||||
| FS Catalog BTs | ||||||
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Records are also available at the Northamptonshire Record Office.
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Northamptonshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- ↑ John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, 1870-72. Adapted. Date accessed: 27 November 2013.
- ↑ ArcherSoftware.co.uk
