San Juan, Puerto Rico Genealogy
| Puerto Rico Wiki Topics | |
 | |
| Beginning Research | |
| Record Types | |
| Puerto Rico Background | |
| Local Research Resources | |
Guide to Municipality of San Juan family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
Contents
History[edit | edit source]
In 1508, Juan Ponce de León founded the original settlement.
San Juan, as a settlement of the Spanish Empire, was used by merchant and military ships traveling from Spain as the first stop to the Americas. The city was witness to attacks from the English led by Sir Francis Drake in 1595.
Camp Las Casas served as the main training camp for the Puerto Rican soldiers prior to World War I and World War II. The majority of the men trained in this facility were assigned to the "Porto Rico Regiment of Infantry" which was renamed the 65th Infantry Regiment of the United States Army by the Reorganization Act of June 4, 1920.
Much of San Juan was flooded with Hurricane Maria on September 20, 2017, which also triggered numerous landslides.
In 2000, the population was 435,400. [1] [2]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
More recent records are protected by privacy laws. However, close relatives can request them for genealogy.
Online Records[edit | edit source]
- Puerto Rico, Civil Registration, 1805-2001, index, incomplete
- Puerto Rico, Civil Registrations, 1885-2001, index, incomplete
- Puerto Rico, Civil Registration, 1805-2001, San Juan, browse images
- Puerto Rico, Civil Registration, 1805-2001, Río Piedras (San Juan), browse images
- Puerto Rico, Civil Registration, 1805-2001, Santurce, (San Juan), browse images
- Puerto Rico Births and Baptisms, 1938-1947 — index
Church Records[edit | edit source]
- Puerto Rico, Catholic Church Records, 1645-1969, San Juan, browse images
- Puerto Rico, Catholic Church Records, 1645-1969, Río Piedras (now San Juan), browse images
- Puerto Rico, Catholic Church Records, 1645-1969, San Francisco (San Juan), browse images
- Puerto Rico, Catholic Church Records, 1645-1969, Santurce (San Juan), browse images
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Search the 1910, 1920, 1930, and 1940 census records for information about your Puerto Rican ancestors who were there during that time period. Click here to go to the Puerto Rico Census Page
References[edit | edit source]
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "San Juan, Puerto Rico," Wikipedia, The Free Encylopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/San_Juan%2C_Puerto_Rico#History, accessed 12/24/20.
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "San Juan, Puerto Rico facts for kids," Wikipedia, The Free Encylopedia, , accessed 12/24/20.
