San Miguel County, New Mexico Genealogy
Guide to San Miguel County, New Mexico ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
- 1 County Information
- 2 Resources
- 2.1 Bible Records
- 2.2 Biographies
- 2.3 Business, Commerce, and Occupations
- 2.4 Cemeteries
- 2.5 Census Records
- 2.6 Church Records
- 2.7 Court Records
- 2.8 Directories
- 2.9 Emigration and Immigration
- 2.10 Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups
- 2.11 Funeral Homes
- 2.12 Genealogies
- 2.13 Guardianship
- 2.14 Land and Property Records
- 2.15 Local Histories
- 2.16 Maps and Gazetteers
- 2.17 Migration
- 2.18 Military Records
- 2.19 Naturalization and Citizenship
- 2.20 Newspapers
- 2.21 Obituaries
- 2.22 Other Records
- 2.23 Periodicals
- 2.24 Probate Records
- 2.25 School Records
- 2.26 Tax Records
- 2.27 Vital Records
- 3 Research Facilities
- 4 Societies
- 5 Websites
- 6 Research Guides
- 7 References
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
San Miguel County is located in the north central area of the state.
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
San Miguel County Courthouse
500 W National Street
Las Vegas, NM 87701
San Miguel County Website
County Clerk has marriage records from 1880, probate records from 1939, and land records from 1800’s; Clerk of the District Court has divorce and court records from 1882.
San Miguel County, New Mexico Record Dates[edit | edit source]
Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
For animated maps illustrating New Mexico County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation New Mexico County Boundary Maps" (1845-1981) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:
History Timeline[edit | edit source]
Resources[edit | edit source]
Bible Records[edit | edit source]
Biographies[edit | edit source]
Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Federal Census Records
Federal Censuses were taken for New Mexico starting in 1850. For links to Federal census indexes, see New Mexico Census.
State Census Records
- 1885 New Mexico Territorial Census 1885 at Ancestry (free)
- Late 1800s 1800s Arizona and New Mexico Territories Census, Late 1800s ($)
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about New Mexico denominations, view the New Mexico Church Records wiki page.
Parish registers (baptisms, marriages, and burials) are available online for the following years:
|FS = FamilySearch - free|
|San Antonio, Pecos, Online Parish Registers|
Court Records[edit | edit source]
Directories[edit | edit source]
Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]
Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]
Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]
Genealogies[edit | edit source]
Guardianship[edit | edit source]
Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See New Mexico Land and Property for additional information about early New Mexico land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.
Online Land Records
- Land Patent Search - index to federal patents and homesteads on the Bureau of Land Management website, some images available
- 1796 - 1907 - U.S. General Land Office Records, 1796-1907 at Ancestry - index, info taken from Bureau of Land Management website
- 1863 - 1908 - U.S. Homestead Records 1863-1908 at Ancestry.com - ($), index and imagesbr>
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
Local histories are available for San Miguel County, New Mexico Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section New Mexico Local Histories.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
- Interactive Formation Boundary Map of New Mexico - shows boundary changes for New Mexico Counties
- NMGenWeb - historical maps
Migration[edit | edit source]
Military Records[edit | edit source]
Revolutionary War[edit | edit source]
- 1775 - 1783 - United States Rosters of Revolutionary War Soldiers and Sailors, 1775-1783 at FamilySearch - images only
- For more nationwide Revolutionary War databases, see US Military Online Genealogy Records.
Civil War[edit | edit source]
- 1861 - 1865 - New Mexico Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch
- For more nationwide Civil War databases, see US Military Online Genealogy Records.
Civil War Battle
The following Civil War battle was fought in San Miguel County.
- Map showing Civil War battles in New Mexico.
World War I[edit | edit source]
- 1917 - 1919 - New Mexico, World War I Records, 1917-1919 at Ancestry ($)
- For more natiowide World War I databases, see US Military OnlineGenealogy Records.
World War II[edit | edit source]
- 1940 - 1945 - New Mexico, World War II Draft Registration Cards, 1940-1945 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1941 - 1945 - World War II Records, 1941-1945 State Summary of War Casualties from World War II for Navy, Marine Corps, and Coast Guard Personnel from: New Mexico
- 1941 - 1945 - World War II Honor List of Dead and Missing Army and Army Air Forces Personnel from: New Mexico
- 1941 - 1945 - New Mexico, World War II Records, 1941-1945 at Ancestry ($)
- For more nationwide World War II databases, see US Military Online Genealogy.
Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
- New Mexico Online Historical Newspapers - identifies historical archived and digitized newspapers available online on both free and pay-to-access websites.
- NewspaperArchive.com ($) has a large collection of Santa Fe and Albuquerque newspapers online. Their database is sometimes free at libraries.
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
Other Records[edit | edit source]
Periodicals[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Since statehood in 1912, probate matters have been under the jurisdiction of probate courts in each county. Records of guardianship and adoption have usually been transferred to the district courts. In 1953 the district courts were given concurrent jurisdiction with the probate court over all probate matters in each county.
See the wiki page New Mexico Probate Records for information about how to find earlier probate records.
The Family History Library does not have copies of the New Mexico county probate records. They are available at each county courthouse. You can obtain copies by contacting the county clerk.
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, and adoption.
Online Probate Records
School Records[edit | edit source]
Tax Records[edit | edit source]
New Mexico tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the Wiki page New Mexico Taxation.
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. See the Wiki page, New Mexico Vital Records, for additional information about the vital records in New Mexico.
Marriage records - are at the County Clerk's office
Divorce records - are at the office of the County Clerk of Court
Birth and death records - are at the New Mexico Vital Records and Health Statistics Office which has records since 1920 and delayed records since 1880.
Birth[edit | edit source]
Marriage[edit | edit source]
- 1727 - 1900 New Mexico Marriages 1727-1900 at Ancestry ($)
- 1751 - 1918 New Mexico Marriages, 1751-1918 at FamilySearch
Death[edit | edit source]
- 1788 – 1798; 1838 – 1955 New Mexico Deaths and Burials, 1788-1798; 1838-1955 at FamilySearch
- 1889 - 1945 New Mexico Deaths, 1889-1945 at FamilySearch
Divorce[edit | edit source]
Research Facilities[edit | edit source]
Archives[edit | edit source]
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.
- For current information about a center near you, go to the Family History Center Map
- Las Vegas New Mexico Family History Center 710 Kathryn Dr Las Vegas, NM 87701 United States Location Map
Libraries[edit | edit source]
Museums[edit | edit source]
Societies[edit | edit source]
Websites[edit | edit source]
- San Miguel County, NM History, Records, Facts and Genealogy
- New Mexico Genealogy Network Community on Google+
- New Mexico Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- FamilySearch Catalog - The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection. Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records
Research Guides[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Wikipedia contributors, "San Miguel, New Mexico," in https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/San_Miguel_County,_New_Mexico. accessed 8/30/2018
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), New Mexico.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), San Miguel County, New Mexico. Page 474 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 471.
- "Courts and Judicial Powers, Sec. 6” Kearny Code: Laws for the Government of the Territory of New Mexico, September 22, 1846 (Santa Fe, N. Mex.: S. W. Kearny, 1846), 47. Digital online edition.
- N.M. Terr. Laws 1851, 1st assy., 2d sess. /p. 291
- William Thorndale, and William Dollarhide, Map Guide to the U.S. Federal Censuses, 1790-1920 (Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing, 1987), 26. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 X2th.
- Original Counties of New Mexico Territory (map) at (accessed 9 August 2011).
- Wikipedia contributors,"San Miguel County, New Mexico," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia,https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/San_Miguel_County,_New_Mexico, accessed 10 February 2019.
- FamilySearch Catalog. Accessed 12 May 2016.
- Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 8 August, 2012)
To access available information, first log into FamilySearch.