Sancton, Yorkshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Sancton, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Sancton, Yorkshire
Type Ancient parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Harthill
County Yorkshire, England Genealogy
Poor Law Union Pocklington
Registration District Pocklington
Records begin
Parish registers: 1539
Bishop's Transcripts: 1599
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Harthill and Hull
Diocese York
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

SANCTON (All Saints), a parish, in the union of Pocklington, Hunsley-Beacon division of the wapentake of Harthill, East Riding of York, with Sancton and Houghton, 1½ mile SE from Market Weighton. The parish includes the township of North Cliffe. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans; also a Roman Catholic chapel at Houghton Hall.[1]

This ancient parish (AP) was created before 1813. Church of England records began in 1538.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Online data content from parish registers of Sancton exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

IARC = Archive.org
FS = FamilySearch.org
ANC = ancestry.co.uk (£)
HATH = HathiTrust.org
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)
Sancton (1728) Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1813-1856, 1864

1728-1860

None

JOIN None

1728-1836

None

AC None

None

None


For a full list of all those chapels surrounding **Chapelry** and comprising the whole ancient parish of Sancton to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the Sancton page.

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 11-15. Adapted. Date accessed: 21 October 2013.