To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Sandgate, Kent Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Sandgate, Kent ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Sandgate, Kent
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Folkestone
County Kent
Poor Law Union Elham
Registration District Elham
Records begin
Parish registers: None
Bishop's Transcripts: 1854
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Dover
Diocese Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Canterbury
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

SANDGATE, a chapelry, partly within the liberty of the town of Folkestone, and partly in the parish of Cheriton, union of Elham, hundred of Folkestone, lathe of Shepway, E division of Kent, 1¼ mile W by S from Folkestone, and 8 miles WSW from Dover. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans. [1]

Sandgate is a village in the Hythe Urban Area of the district of Shepway in Kent, see Sandgate Kent Wikipedia

Sandgate St Paul is a parish in the Diocese of Canterbury and part of the Trinity benefice group of churches with Folkestone St George, Folkestone Holy Trinity, Folkestone Christ Church, Kent

Sandgate St Paul, Sandgate High Street, Folkestone, dates from 1849 and has been designated as a grade C listed building British listed building It replaced an earlier 1822 church see Kent Churches website

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

See Elham Registration District Folkestone Registration District

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House (Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Sandgate parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS PRs = England, Kent, Parish Registers, 1538-1911 (FamilySearch) - free
FS Canterbury PRs = England, Kent, Canterbury Parish Registers, 1538-1986 (FamilySearch) - free
FS BTs = England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts, 1560-1911 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
FREG = FreeREG - free
FMP Kent = Kent Baptisms, Marriages, Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP Canterbury = Kent Canterbury Archdeaconry Baptisms, Marriages, Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP East Kent = East Kent Marriage and Burial Indexes (FindMyPast) - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Sandgate Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs 1538-1911
1538-1911
1538-1911
FS Canterbury PRs 1538-1986
1538-1986
1538-1986
FS BTs
1560-1911
1560-1911
1560-1911
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FREG 1538-1900s
1538-1900s
1538-1900s
FMP Kent 1854-1918
1554-1934
1898-1993
FMP Canterbury 1854-1918
1554-1934
1898-1993
FMP East Kent

1538-1754
1813-1841
BOYD

1538-1850


IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Kent Online Parish Clerks has indexes available for select parishes. Records are also available at the Kent Archives.

Family History Library film numbers
Sandgate
From Spring 2012 material formerly held at
Centre for Kentish Studies, County Hall, Maidstone, Kent ME14 1XX
is available at Kent History and Library Centre see Kent Archives which also enables a search of the catalogue for Kent Archives material deposited at Canterbury Cathedral Archives

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Local Family History Centre[edit | edit source]

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 11-15. Date accessed: 22 May 2013.
  2. ArcherSoftware.co.uk

FamilySearch