To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Sandhurst, Kent Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Sandhurst, Kent ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


Sandhurst, Kent
Sandhurst St Nicholas Kent.jpg
Sandhurst St Nicholas Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Selbrittenden
County Kent
Poor Law Union Cranbrook
Registration District Cranbrook
Records begin
Parish registers: 1563
Bishop's Transcripts: 1560
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Canterbury
Diocese Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Canterbury
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

SANDHURST (St. Nicholas), a parish, in the union of Cranbrooke, hundred of Selbrittenden, Lower division of the lathe of Scray, W division of Kent, 7 miles SW by W from Tenterden. There are places of worship for Baptists and Wesleyans. [1]

Sandhurst is a village and civil parish in the Tunbridge Wells district of Kent, see Sandhurst kent Wikipedia

Sandhurst St Nicholas is an Ancient Parish in the Diocese of Canterbury Deanery website and part of the parish boundary forms part of the county boundary with neighbours Bodiam, Sussex Ewhurst, Sussex and Northiam, Sussex A map of the parish boundary may be found at A church near you

The Church of St Nicholas, Church Road, Sandhurst has been designated as a grade II* listed building British listed building there are a group of scheduled monuments associated with the church and church yard.

The Baptist Chapel and former school, Sandhurst dates from 1853 and has been designated as a grade II listed building British listed building there are other scheduled monuments associated with the chapel.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

This parish was part of the Cranbrook registration district. See Maidstone Registration District

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Sandhurst parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
MIDK = Mid-Kent Marriage Index 1754-1911 - free[3]
Sandhurst Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG
1538-1600, 1754-1911

MIDK 1754-1911

Original deposited registers are held at:

Centre for Kentish Studies, County Hall, Maidstone, Kent ME14 1XX

From Spring 2012 material formerly held at
Centre for Kentish Studies, County Hall, Maidstone, Kent ME14 1XX
is available at Kent History and Library Centre see Kent Archives which also enables a search of the catalogue for Kent Archives material deposited at Canterbury Cathedral Archives

Family History Library film numbers
Sandhurst

See also England, Kent, Parish Registers and Bishop's Transcripts (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census returns for Sandhurst 1841-1891

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Local Family History Centre[edit | edit source]

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 15-20. Date accessed: 22 May 2013.
  2. 'Kent Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 6 November 2013.
  3. 'Mid-Kent Marriage Index 1754-1911,' Woodchurch Ancestry Group, accessed 16 January 2014.

To access available information, first log into FamilySearch.