To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Sandwich St Bartholomew’s Hospital, Kent Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Sandwich St Bartholomew's Hospital

Guide to Sandwich St Bartholomew's Hospital, Kent ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Sandwich St Bartholomew’s Hospital, Kent
Sandwich St Bart's Chapel Kent.jpg
Sandwich St Bart's Chapel Kent
Type Extra-parochial
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Sandwich Town and Port
County Kent
Poor Law Union Eastry
Registration District Eastry
Records begin
Parish registers: For records see surrounding parishes
Bishop's Transcripts: For records see surrounding parishes
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not Applicable
Diocese Not Applicable
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Search the courts of the surrounding parishes
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

Sandwich is a town and civil Parish, a Cinque Port within the Dover District of Kent, see also Sandwich Kent Wikipedia for a history of the town.

Sandwich St Bartholomew's Hospital was an extra parochial place within the town.

St. Bart's Hospital, as it is known locally, is one of the oldest established hostels for travellers and pilgrims, dating back possibly, to 1190.

The chapel for the "accommodation of pilgrims and travellers where they might be furnished with lodgings, provisions and other necessaries for their journey" on the site which it still occupies in Dover Road on the outskirts of the town, but it fairly soon became a Hospital providing a permanent home to sixteen brothers or sisters.

To begin with, the brethren lived in common, though they had separate rooms; now of course they have individual houses.

The Hospital chapel, built in 1217 as part of the original foundation, is still used for its original purpose by today's hospitalians.

The buildings on the site form part of a cluster of listed buildings. The St Bartholomew's Chapel, St Bart's Road Sandwich has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building

See also 'Hospitals: Hospitals in Sandwich and Sevenoaks', A History of the County of Kent: Volume 2 (1926), pp. 226-227 [http://www.british-history.ac.uk/report.aspx?compid=38241&strquery=Sandwich at British History Online.

In addition Edward Hasted in his, "The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent": Volume 10 (1800), pp. 152-216. Date accessed: 30 September 2013. at British History Online refers to the 3 hospital foundations within the town's history.

See Kent Churches website for a 1917 image of the chapel.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Eastry Registration District and Thanet Registration District

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House (Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Sandwich St Bartholomew’s Hospital parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS PRs = England, Kent, Parish Registers, 1538-1911 (FamilySearch) - free
FS Canterbury PRs = England, Kent, Canterbury Parish Registers, 1538-1986 (FamilySearch) - free
FS BTs = England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts, 1560-1911 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
FREG = FreeREG - free
FMP Kent = Kent Baptisms, Marriages, Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP Canterbury = Kent Canterbury Archdeaconry Baptisms, Marriages, Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP East Kent = East Kent Marriage and Burial Indexes (FindMyPast) - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[1]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Sandwich St Bartholomew’s Hospital Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs 1538-1911
1538-1911
1538-1911
FS Canterbury PRs 1538-1986
1538-1986
1538-1986
FS BTs
1560-1911
1560-1911
1560-1911
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FREG 1538-1900s
1538-1900s
1538-1900s
FMP Kent 1538-1988
1538-1997
1538-2010
FMP Canterbury 1538-1918
1538-1934
1538-1998
FMP East Kent

1538-1754
1813-1841
BOYD

1538-1850


IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Kent Online Parish Clerks has indexes available for select parishes. Records are also available at the Kent Archives.

St Bartholomew's Chapel is an extra parochial place and it is necessary to refer to other parishes in the town for ecclesiastical parish records such as parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, non conformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records.

Family History Library film numbers
Sandwich St Bartholomew’s Hospital will bring records for the town of Sandwich generally.

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census returns for Sandwich St Bartholomew 1841-1891

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Local Family History Centre[edit | edit source]

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

  1. ArcherSoftware.co.uk

FamilySearch