To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Sandwich St Mary, Kent Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Sandwich St Mary

Guide to Sandwich St Mary, Kent ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


Sandwich St Mary, Kent
Sandwich St Mary Kent.jpg
Sandwich St Mary Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Sandwich Town and Port
County Kent
Poor Law Union Eastry
Registration District Eastry
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1563
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Sandwich
Diocese Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Canterbury
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

Sandwich is a town and civil Parish, a Cinque Port within the Dover District of Kent, see also Sandwich Kent Wikipedia for a history of the town.

Sandwich St Mary is an Ancient Parish.

The church which is redundant, contains remains of the Saxon church on the site. The Danes raided the town several times and the French attacks of 1217 and 1457 damaged the church built about 1200. An Earthquake in 1578 damaged the building and is thought to have been the cause of eventual collapse of the tower in 1667. The church was restored by Joseph Clarke 1869-1874

In 1948 the three parishes were unified and Sandwich St Clement, Kent became the parish church at which time St Mary became disused. Despite plans to demolish it in 1956 it was restored and is now in the care of the Churches Conservation Trust. It remains consecrated and is used for some services but has been the Sandwich Arts Centre and is available for hire as well as being a concert and event venue in the town.

The building has been designated by English Heritage as a Grade I listed building.British listed building

See also Edward Hasted's 'The town and port of Sandwich', The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 10 (1800), pp. 152-216. Date accessed: 30 September 2013. at British History Online and Kent Churches website.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Eastry Registration District and Thanet Registration District

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House (Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Sandwich St Mary parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[1][2][3][4]
Sandwich St Mary Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1538-1912 1538-1912 1538-1869; 1653-1925 (Banns) 1538-1869; 1653-1925 (Banns) 1538-1932 1538-1932

Kent Online Parish Clerks (OPC)

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census returns for Sandwich St Mary 1841-1891

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Local Family History Centre[edit | edit source]

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. 'Canterbury baptism records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 11 November 2013.
  2. 'Canterbury marriage records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 14 November 2013.
  3. 'Canterbury banns coverage', Find My Past, accessed 11 November 2013.
  4. 'Canterbury burial records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 14 November 2013.