Santa Isabel, Puerto Rico Genealogy
|Puerto Rico Wiki Topics|
|Puerto Rico Background|
|Local Research Resources|
Guide to Municipality of Santa Isabel family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
History[edit | edit source]
Santa Isabel was founded on October 5, 1842 by Antonio Vélez. on October 5, 1842, Santa Isabel was separated from Coamo and became a town. It was named in honor of Queen Isabel of Spain.
Sugar cane was grown in Santa Isabel for decades, due to the municipality’s fertile land. A wide variety of vegetables and tropical fruits are grown there. Large areas of land are dedicated to agriculture, which is one of the main sources of income in the municipality. There are also several manufacturing factories that produce clothing, electrical and electronic equipment, metal products and food products. Many well-known race horses were raised here.
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
More recent records are protected by privacy laws. However, close relatives can request them for genealogy.
Online Records[edit | edit source]
- Puerto Rico, Civil Registration, 1805-2001, index, incomplete
- Puerto Rico, Civil Registrations, 1885-2001, index, incomplete
- Puerto Rico, Civil Registration, Santa Isabel, browse images
- Puerto Rico Births and Baptisms, 1938-1947 — index
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Search the 1910, 1920, 1930, and 1940 census records for information about your Puerto Rican ancestors who were there during that time period. Click here to go to the Puerto Rico Census Page
References[edit | edit source]
- Wikipedia contributors, "Santa Isabel, Puerto Rico," Wikipedia, The Free Encylopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Santa_Isabel,_Puerto_Rico, accessed 12/27/20.
- Wikipedia contributors, "Santa Isabel," Wikipedia, The Free Encylopedia, http://nuestropuertorico.com/municipalities/en-santa-isabel/, accessed ACCESSDATE.