Santa Rosa County, Florida Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Santa Rosa County, Florida ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Milton
Organized: February 18, 1842
Parent County(s): Escambia[1]
Neighboring Counties
Escambia (AL)  • Escambia  • Okaloosa
See County Maps
Courthouse
FloridaSantaRosaCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Fl-santa-rosa.png
Adoption
Adopt-a-wiki page
Flgenlogo100.png This page adopted by:
The FLGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

The county was named for the Roman Catholic saint, Rosa de Viterbo. The County is located in the Northwest area of the state.[2]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Santa Rosa County Courthouse
6865 Caroline Street
Milton, FL 32570
Phone: 850-623-0135
Santa Rosa County Website

County Archives has marriage, divorce, probate and court records from 1869
Deed Room, Main Courthouse has land records from 1869 [3]

Santa Rosa County, Florida Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1899 1869 1899 1869 1869 1869 1830
*Statewide registration of births and deaths began in 1899. General compliance by 1920.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

Courthouse burned in 1869.

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[6]

Cities
Towns
Unincorporated communities


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Santa Rosa, Florida online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Florida Cemeteries for more information

The following web site may have additional information on Santa Rosa County cemeteries.

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1850 2,883
1860 5,480 90.1%
1870 3,312 −39.6%
1880 6,645 100.6%
1890 7,961 19.8%
1900 10,293 29.3%
1910 14,897 44.7%
1920 13,670 −8.2%
1930 14,083 3.0%
1940 16,085 14.2%
1950 18,554 15.3%
1960 29,547 59.2%
1970 37,741 27.7%
1980 55,988 48.3%
1990 81,608 45.8%
2000 117,743 44.3%
2010 151,372 28.6%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

For tips on accessing census records online, see: Florida Census.

  • 1783 - Spanish Census USGenWeb
  • 1821 - Census/Tax List Index USGenWeb
  • 1823 - Census/Tax List Index USGenWeb
  • 1880 - Census African Born Blacks and Mulattos USGenWeb
  • 1885 Florida State Population Census includes sex, age, relationship, occupation, place of birth of each family member and parents. Also census for agriculture, manufacture and mortality. - How to Use this Collection
  • Federal Census Information from National Archives USGenWeb
  • State Census Information from Florida State Archives USGenWeb
  • Census of Pensioners Revo

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Florida denominations, view the Florida Church Records wiki page.
List of Churches and Church Parishes

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

  • NARA Ships Passenger Lists - These passenger lists cover:
    • 1834-1897 - Immigration of Russians to the United States
    • 1/12/1846-12/31/1851 - Irish Famine
    • 1850-1897 - Germans to the United States
    • 1855-1900 - Italians to the United States

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

African American

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Florida Land and Property for additional information about early Florida land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Florida Territorial Land Records USGenWeb Archives

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Local histories are available for most counties. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Florida Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Escambia CountyOkaloosa CountyEscambia CountyFL SANTA ROSA.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Civil War

World War I

World War II

Korean War

Vietnam War

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Online Indexes and Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Social Security Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more information see the wiki page Florida Taxation.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Florida Department of Health, Bureau of Vital Statistics, Florida State Archives, or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Listed below are archives in Santa Rosa County. For state-wide archival repositories, see Florida Archives and Libraries.

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Libraries

Navarre Florida Family History Center
1753 Sea Lark Ln
Navarre FL 32566-7407
Telephone: none
Email: FL_Navarre@familyhistorymail.org
Website

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Listed below are libraries in Santa Rosa County. For state-wide library facilities, see Florida Archives and Libraries.

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Listed below are societies in Santa Rosa County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see Florida Societies.
Santa Rosa Genealogical Society
PO Box 3
6275 Dogwood Drive
Milton FL 32572-0003
Phone: 850-623-3408
Email Glynda Cupp: setterdg@yahoo.com
website

The Santa Rosa Historical Society
6866 Caroline Street
Milton FL 32570
Phone: 850-324-2875
Email: santarosahistoricalsociety@ymail.com
website

Florida Historical Society
435 Brevard Ave.
Cocoa FL 32922
Phone: 321-690-1971
Website

Florida State Genealogical Society
P.O. Box 940927
Maitland, FL 32794-0927
Phone: 407-494-3747
Website

Websites[edit | edit source]

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Florida.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Santa Rosa County," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, wikipedia 04/26/2017.
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Florida.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Florida.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Florida.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. Wikipedia contributors, Santa_Rosa_County,_Florida," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, wikipedia accessed Feb 10 2019.