Saudi Arabia Genealogy
Guide to Saudi Arabia ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.
|Saudi Arabia Wiki Topics|
|Saudi Arabia Background|
|Local Research Resources|
Country Information[edit | edit source]
Saudi Arabia is a country in the Middle East bordered by Jordan, Iraq, Kuwait, Qatar, Bahrain, the United Arab Emirates, Oman, and Yemen. It was formerly under the control of the Ottoman Empire. The official language is Arabic.
Getting Started[edit | edit source]
Getting Started with Saudi Arabia Research
Links to articles on getting started with Saudi Arabia research.
Saudi Arabia Research Tools
Links to articles and websites that assist in Saudi Arabia research.
Saudi Arabia Map[edit | edit source]
Provinces[edit | edit source]
Genealogy records are kept on the local level in Saudi Arabia. Saudi Arabia contains 13 Provinces (mintaqat, singular - mintaqah):
- 1 Al Jawf
- 2 Al Hudud ash Shamaliyah (Northern Borders)
- 3 Tabuk
- 4 Ha'il
- 5 Al Madinah
- 6 Al Qasim
- 7 Makkah
- 8 Ar Riyad
- 9 Ash Sharqiyah (Eastern Province)
- 10 Al Bahah
- 11 Asir
- 12 Jizan
- 13 Najran
FamilySearch Resources[edit | edit source]
Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in researching your family.
- Facebook Communities - Facebook groups discussing genealogy research
References[edit | edit source]
- Wikipedia contributors, "Saudi Arabia," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Saudi_Arabia, accessed 22 April 2016.