To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Scampton, Lincolnshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Scampton, Lincolnshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Scampton, Lincolnshire
Scampton St John the Baptist.JPG
Scampton St John the Baptist
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Lawress
County Lincolnshire
Poor Law Union Lincoln
Registration District Lincoln
Records begin
Parish registers: 1548
Bishop's Transcripts: 1599
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Lawres
Diocese Lincoln
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1834 - Court of the Archdeaconry of Stow; Post-1833 - Court of the Bishop of Lincoln (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lincolnshire Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

SCAMPTON (St. John the Baptist), a parish in the wapentake of Lawress with parts of Lindsey, union and county of Lincoln, 5¾ miles (N. N. W.) from Lincoln.[1]

Scampton St John The Baptist is an Ancient Parish in the Lawres deanery of the Diocese of Lincoln.

The Church is mainly 18th century but some dates back to the 17th century with restorations taking place in 1794 and in 1876 – 1877. There are two brass panels in the Church and two more not on show with armorial inscription dated 1644 and 1648 of the Bolles and the Vele Families.

There are many Air Force graves from the Second World War to present day service personnel. To the East of the Church there are eight headstones that belong to the crews of two German warplanes that crashed on the main road near by.

RAF Scampton became famous as the home of 617 Squadron - The Dambusters - during WWII. Later it became a V-bomber base and was massively expanded as a result, causing the A15 to be diverted in a big curve around the north-eastern end of the runway. It is now home to the Royal Air Force Aerobatic Team, The Red Arrows, and Hawker Hunter Aviation have a small enclave on the station too. The Battle of Britain Memorial Flight also operate from here.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

The parish is in a sub District of Lincoln registration district

Certificate Applications, Lincolnshire Registration & Celebration Services, PO Box 760, Lincoln, LN2 5WG.
Tel: 01522 782244. E-mail: CopyCertificates@lincolnshire.gov.uk

Church records[edit | edit source]

Scampton parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS PRs = England, Lincolnshire, Parish Registers, 1538-1990 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
FREG = FreeREG - free
FMP = Lincolnshire Baptisms, Marriages, Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP Banns = Lincolnshire Banns (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP Marr Index = Lincolnshire Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP Marr = Lincolnshire Marriage Licence Bonds and Allegations (FindMyPast) - ($)
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - ($)
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Scampton Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs 1538-1990
1538-1990
1538-1990
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FREG 1538-1900s
1538-1900s
1538-1900s
FMP 1538-1911
1537-1911
1537-1970
FMP Banns

1647-1911


FMP Marr Index

1700-1837


FMP Marr

1628-1837


JOIN

1813-1837


NBI



1754-2002
IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the Lincolnshire Archives.

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.



Poor Law Unions
[edit | edit source]

Lincoln Poor Law Union, Lincolnshire

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/LIN/Scampton/

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 01 September 2013.
  2. ArcherSoftware.co.uk

http://www.achurchnearyou.com/scampton-st-john-the-baptist/ for information about the parish

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/LIN/Scampton/#ChurchHist for Church history and pictures