Scott County, Virginia Genealogy
Guide to Scott County Virginia ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, immigration records, and military records.
|Scott County, Virginia|
Location in the state of Virginia
Location of Virginia in the U.S.
|County Seat||Gate City|
- 1 County Information
- 2 Scott County, Virginia History
- 3 Scott County, Virginia Places/Localities
- 4 Resources
- 4.1 Research Guides
- 4.2 African American
- 4.3 Bible Records
- 4.4 Cemeteries
- 4.5 Census
- 4.6 Church Records
- 4.7 Court
- 4.8 Genealogy
- 4.9 Land and Property
- 4.10 Local Histories
- 4.11 Maps
- 4.12 Military
- 4.13 Miscellaneous Records
- 4.14 Naturalization
- 4.15 Newspapers
- 4.16 Private Papers
- 4.17 Probate Records
- 4.18 Taxation
- 4.19 Vital Records
- 5 Scott County, Virginia Genealogy Societies and Libraries
- 6 Scott County, Virginia Genealogy Websites
- 7 References
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
Scott County is located along the Tennessee border in the corner of Southwest Virginia and was named after General Winfield Scott.
Scott County, Virginia Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Scott County Courthouse
Scott Circuit Court
202 West Jackson Street
Gate City, VA 24251
Clerk Circuit Court has birth records 1853-1895,
death records 1853-1892, marriage divorce,
probate, court and land records from 1815
General compliance year is unknown.
Scott County, Virginia History[edit | edit source]
Parent County[edit | edit source]
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
For animated maps illustrating Virginia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Virginia County Boundary Maps" (1617-1995) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
- Lost census: 1890
Scott County, Virginia Places/Localities[edit | edit source]
- Gate City (County Seat)
- Weber City
Populated Places and Communities[edit | edit source]
Neighboring Counties[edit | edit source]
Resources[edit | edit source]
Research Guides[edit | edit source]
- "A Guide to the Counties of Virginia: Scott County," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 22, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1978):133-136. Available at FHL; digital version at American Ancestors ($).
African American[edit | edit source]
Freedmen's Bureau Letters or Correspondence, 1865-1872
Bible Records[edit | edit source]
Images of the Virginia Historical Society's family Bible collection have been digitized:
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
|Tombstone Transcriptions Online||Tombstone Transcriptions in Print||List of Cemeteries in the county|
|Findagrave.com||Family History Library||Findagrave.com|
|See Virginia Cemeteries for more information.|
- 1800-1986 - Virginia, Jewish Cemetery Records Index, ca. 1800-1986 at FamilySearch — index
Census[edit | edit source]
For tips on accessing Scott County, Virginia Genealogy census records online, see: Virginia Census.
- Douthat, James L. 1840 Mountain Empire of Virginia Census. Signal Mountain, Tenn.: Mountain Press, 2001. FHL Collection 975.5 X2d 1840. Free online surname index and purchase details at Mountain Press website. [Includes Scott County.]
1890 Union Veterans
- "Virginia's Union Veterans: Eleventh Census of the United States 1890." Prince William County Virginia, by Ronald Ray Turner. FHL Collection.
- Scott County Census name index for 1900, courtesy of the Scott County Historical Society.
- Scott County Census name index for 1910, courtesy of the Scott County Historical Society.
- Scott County Census name index for 1920, courtesy of the Scott County Historical Society.
- Scott County Census name index for 1920, courtesy of the Scott County Historical Society.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Baptist[edit | edit source]
Early Baptist churches (with years constituted):
- Copper Creek (pre-1800), Nickelsville, Va. Minutes begin in 1807. They have been published: FHL Book 975.5732 K2a. Membership Lists 1807-1853 are online.
Quaker[edit | edit source]
Early monthly meetings (with years of existence):
- Maple Spring Monthly Meeting (1807-1813)
Court[edit | edit source]
Genealogy [edit | edit source]
More than 40 genealogies have been published about Scott County families. To view a list, visit Scott County, Virginia Compiled Genealogies.
Land and Property[edit | edit source]
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
- Addington, Robert M. History of Scott County, Virginia. Kingsport, Tenn.: Kingsport Press, 1932. Available at FHL (original edition and 1979 reprint); digital version at Ancestry ($) and World Vital Records ($).
- Chataigne's Gazetteer and Business Directory for Scott County, Virginia, 1888- 89.
Maps[edit | edit source]
Military[edit | edit source]
General Information[edit | edit source]
Revolutionary War[edit | edit source]
- Kegley, Mary B. Revolutionary War Pension Applications of Southwest Virginia Soldiers. n.p.: M.B. Kegley, 1997. FHL Collection [Includes Scott County pensioners.]
- A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census]. 1841. Digital versions at U.S. Census Bureau and Google Books et. al. 1967 reprint: FHL Collection 973 X2pc 1840. [See Virginia, Western District, Scott County on page 136.]
- Rejected or Suspended Applications for Revolutionary War Pensions. Washington, D.C., 1852. Reprinted by Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1969, and 1991. Reprints include "an Added Index to States." FHL Book 973 M24ur; digital version at Ancestry ($). [Includes veterans from this county; Virginia section begins on page 238.]
War of 1812[edit | edit source]
- List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1883. FHL Collection 973 M2Lp v. 5; digital versions at Google Books and Internet Archive. [See Vol. 5, Virginia, Scott County, p. 103. Identifies War of 1812 veterans living in this county in 1883.]
Civil War[edit | edit source]
Regiments. Service men in Scott County, Virginia Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Scott County, Virginia Genealogy:
- - 4th Regiment, Virginia State Line (Cavalry and Infantry) (Confederate). Company K probably recruited in Scott County.
- - 22nd Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Bowen's Virginia Mounted Riflemen) (Confederate). Company A.
- - 25th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate). Company A, Company B, Company C, and Company D.
- - 37th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company D (Davis Rifle Guards).
- - 48th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company B (Clinch Mountain Boomers), Company I (Stock Creek Greys), and Company K (Osborne Ford Independents).
- - 50th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company A (Lee Rifles).
- - 64th Regiment, Virginia Mounted Infantry (Confederate). Companies D1, D2, and E2.
Records and histories are available, including:
- 1861-1865 - Virginia, Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- 1861-1865 - Virginia, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- 1861-1865 - U.S., Confederate Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
- 1861-1865 - U.S., Union Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
World War II[edit | edit source]
- 1940-1945 - Virginia, World War II Draft Registration Cards,1940-1945 at FamilySearch — index and images
Miscellaneous Records[edit | edit source]
Naturalization[edit | edit source]
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
The Virginia Newspapers Project identifies local Scott County, Virginia Genealogy newspapers.
Private Papers[edit | edit source]
Virginia, Historical Society Papers, 1607-2007
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Taxation[edit | edit source]
-  Ward, Roger D. 1815 Directory of Virginia Landowners (and Gazetteer). 6 vols. Athens, Georgia: Iberian Pub. Co., 1997-2000. Available at FHL. [The source for this publication is the 1815 land tax. Scott County is included in Vol. 5.]
-  Kegley, Mary B. Southwest Virginia Tax Assessments, 1815: Grayson, Lee, Scott, Russell, Washington, and Wythe Counties. Wytheville, Va.: Kegley Books, 1991. Original edition and 1992 supplement available at FHL. [The source for this publication is a private collection of 1815 tax assessment tickets for the First District of Virginia. The tickets includes landowners' names, number of acres or lots, number of buildings along with descriptions, and number of slaves. N.B. These are not the 1815 land tax books.]
-  Kincaid, Bathsheba. "Scott County, Virginia Tax Book for 1816," The Mountain Empire Genealogical Quarterly, Vol. 4, No. 3 (Fall 1985):179-181. FHL US/CAN Book 975 D25m v. 4 (1985).
-  1818 Scott County, Virginia Personal Property Tax List; index online at New River Notes - free.
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Indexes to Scott County, Virginia Genealogy births, marriages, and deaths are available online. These collections are incomplete, but are easy to search. Most records can also be ordered electronically online as well. Courtesy: FamilySearch. See also How to order Virginia Vital Records
Birth[edit | edit source]
- 1853-1866 - Virginia, Slave Birth Index, 1853-1866 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1912-1913 - Virginia, Birth Certificates, 1912-1913 at FamilySearch — index and images
Marriage[edit | edit source]
- 1660-1959 - Virginia, United States Marriages at FindMyPast — index $
- 1740-1850 - Virginia Marriages 1740-1850 (Ancestry) ($).
- 1815-1829 - Scott County Marriages 1815-1829 (VAGenWeb) - free
- 1830-1839 - Scott County Marriages 1830-1839 (VAGenWeb) - free
- 1853-1935 - Virginia, Bureau of Vital Statistics, County Marriage Registers, 1853-1935 at FamilySearch — index and images
Divorce[edit | edit source]
Death[edit | edit source]
- 1853-1870 - Scott County Death Index 1853-1870. Batch B868656 at FamilySearch - free.
- 1871-1896 - Deaths in Scott County, published on the Scott County Historical Society website - free.
- 1912-1987 - Virginia, Death Certificates, 1912-1987 at FamilySearch — index and images
Vital Record Substitutes[edit | edit source]
|For birth, marriage, and death record substitutes, see Bible Records, Cemeteries, Church History and Records, Newspapers, and Probate Records.|
Scott County, Virginia Genealogy Societies and Libraries[edit | edit source]
- Scott County Historical Society, Inc.
137 East Jackson Street, Box 5
Gate City, VA 24251
[edit | edit source]
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.
- For current information about a center near you, go to the Family History Center Map
Scott County, Virginia Genealogy Websites[edit | edit source]
- FamilySearch Catalog
- Scott County, Virginia USGENWEB
- Scott County, VA History, Records, Facts and Genealogy (Familytree101)
- References for Southwest Virginia (Southwest Virginia Project)
- RootsWeb Mailing List: SW_VA-L (Topic: Southwest Virginia)
- Scott County Virginia Genealogical Research Site (VAGenWeb). Part of the USGenWeb Project.
- Cyndi's List
- Scott County Virginia Faces and Places
References[edit | edit source]
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Scott County, Virginia. Page 721 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Scott County, Virginia . Page 710-723 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 715-720.
- Luther F. Addington and Emory L. Hamilton, Regular Baptist Minutes, Copper Creek Church, 1809-1896 and Primitive Baptist Church Minutes, Addington Frame Church, 1847-1923 (Clintwood, Va.: Mullins Printing, 1980s). FHL Book 975.5732 K2a.
- Jay Worrall, The Friendly Virginians: America's First Quakers (Athens, Ga.: Iberian Publishing Company, 1994), 537-539. FHL Book 975.5 K2wj.
- The Virginia State Line: Organizational Structure of the Virginia State Line, Ranger95.com, accessed 11 June 2012.
- Dobbie E. Lambert, 25th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1994). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 106.
- Thomas M. Rankin, 37th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1987). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 37.
- John D. Chapla, 48th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1989). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 54.
- John C. Chapla, 50th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1997). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 129.
- Jeffrey C. Weaver, 64th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1992). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 89.
- Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/3/37/Igivirginia.pdf