Scremby, Lincolnshire Genealogy
Guide to Scremby, Lincolnshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Scremby St Peter & St Paul Lincolnshire
|County||Lincolnshire, England Genealogy|
|Poor Law Union||Spilsby|
|Parish registers: 1716|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1561|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Lincoln (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
SCREMBY (St. Peter and St. Paul), a parish in the union of Spilsby, Wold division of the wapentake of Candleshoe with parts of Lindsey, county of Lincoln, 3½ miles (E. N. E.) from Spilsby.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Scremby parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Scremby Online Parish Records|
|FMP Marr Index||1700-1837|
|FS Catalog PRs|
|FS Catalog BTs|
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Records are also available at the Lincolnshire Archives.
The digitisation of parish records for the county now offers images via the Lincs to the past website (July 2011). Use advanced search terms at Search Lincs to the past to search for available images for parish registers and other records for this parish with images. Advance search terms Scremby Par 1 will identify available images.
Material deposited at Lincolnshire Archives,
St Rumbold Street
Enquiries: email@example.com The website enables you to view a PDF file for all records held for each parish as part of continuing efforts to provide an online catalogue.
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Scremby
Census records[edit | edit source]
Contributor: Include an overview if there is any unique information, such as the census for X year was destroyed. Add a link to online sites for indexes and/or images. Also add a link to the FamilySearch Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection.See Lincolnshire Census
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 01 September 2013.