Selattyn, Shropshire Genealogy
Guide to Selattyn, Shropshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Selattyn (Welsh: Selatyn) is the a rural village and parish near Oswestry in Shropshire, England, on the border with Wales. The parish includes the townships of Upper and Lower Brogyntyn (formerly crudely transliterated as Porkington), and also the hamlet of Hengoed.
|County||Shropshire, England Genealogy|
|Poor Law Union||Oswestry|
|Parish registers: 1556|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1662|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of St Asaph (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Shropshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
In 1848 - SELATTYN (St. Mary), a parish, in the hundred of Oswestry, N. division of Shropshire, 3¼ miles (N. N. W.) from Oswestry. 
Close to Selattyn lies the ruined Castell Brogyntyn, constructed by the Welsh around the 12th Century. The castle is associated with Owain Brogyntyn, son of Madog ap Maredudd, the last king of a united County of Powys, Wales Genealogy. The area only became part of Shropshire when it was annexed by England in the 16th Century. The original manor house of Brogyntyn was the residence of members of the dynasty of the Welsh kingdom of Powys and one of the taî'r uchelwyr ("houses of the gentry") in late medieval Wales. It subsequently came into the possession of the Ormsby-Gore family (the Lords Harlech).
An important collection of both Welsh and English manuscripts from Brogyntyn is held at the National Library of Wales in Aberystwyth. Some of the Brogyntyn Manuscripts have been digitised and made available on-line.
The parish of Selattyn originally formed part of the Welsh Diocese of St Asaph. However, following the disestablishment of the Anglican church in Wales in 1920, the parish was transferred to the English Diocese of Lichfield.
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
The parish of Selattyn formed part of the Oswestry Registrar's District.
|1841||HO107/916-5||5 to 49|
|1851||HO107/1933||263 to 300|
Church Records[edit | edit source]
The following records of Selattyn are available on the IGI:
Selattyn parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|SELATTYN PARISH (1557) Online Records|
Bishop's transcripts held at Lichfield Record Office Bap 1662-1860 Marr 1662-1860 Bur 1662-1860
Hengoed registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Hengoed Online Records|
Nonconformist Church Records[edit | edit source]
Civil Records[edit | edit source]
The parish of Selattyn formed a sub-district of the Oswestry Registration District and any entries for births, marriages or deaths from 1837 in Selattyn will appear as Oswestry in the GRO Indexes.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 44-48. Date accessed: 09 July 2012.
- 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 21 February 2014.
- 'Shropshire Baptisms 1538-1900,' findmypast, accessed 28 April 2014.
- 'Shropshire Marriages 1538-1900,' findmypast, accessed 28 April 2014.
- 'Shropshire Burials 1538-1900,' findmypast, accessed 28 April 2014.
- Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Shropshire, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 25 April 2014.
- 'Shropshire Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 9 September 2013.
- Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes.