To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Sellindge, Kent Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Sellindge, Kent ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Sellindge, Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Street
County Kent
Poor Law Union Elham
Registration District Elham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1559
Bishop's Transcripts: 1563
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Lympne
Diocese Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Canterbury
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

Sellindge is a village and civil parish in the Shepway district of Kent, see Sellindge Wikipedia. In older documents, the name often is written as Sellinge (without the 'd'). There is another parish named Selling located elsewhere in Kent.

Sellindge St Mary is an Ancient Parish in the diocese of Canterbury and is part of the benefice of Mersham (St. John the Baptist) with Hinxhill and Sellindge group of churches, see A20 churches website

The parish church of St Mary, Sellindge is Norman in origin and has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building

See Edward Hasted, The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 8 (1799), pp. 303-314. Date accessed: 21 October 2013. at British History Online and Kent Churches website

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

See Elham Registration District Folkestone Registration District

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House (Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Sellindge parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[1]
FS PRs = England, Kent, Parish Registers (FamilySearch) - free[2]
MIDK = Mid-Kent Marriage Index 1754-1911 - free[3]
Sellindge Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG
1754-1911

FS PRs 1824-1900
MIDK 1754-1911

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Prior to the 1911 census the household schedule was destroyed and only the enumerator's schedule survives.

The 1911 census of England and Wales was taken on the night of Sunday 2 April 1911 and in addition to households and institutions such as prisons and workhouses, canal boats, merchant ships and naval vessels it attempted to include homeless persons. The schedule was completed by an individual and for the first time both this record and the enumerator's schedule were preserved.

Two forms of boycott of the census by women are possible due to frustration at government failure to grant women the universal right to vote in parliamentary and local elections. The schedule either records a protest by failure to complete the form in respect of the women in the household or women are absent due to organisation of groups of women staying away from home for the whole night. [1]

Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Prior to 1858, Sellindge was in the Archdeaconry of Canterbury for probate purposes. Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Local Family History Centre[edit | edit source]

Nonconformist records[edit | edit source]

A Baptist chapel was erected in 1838.

Manors[edit | edit source]

The following manors were located within, or partly within the parish boundaries: Great Hodiford; Coldham; Sellindge; Somerville or Somerfield Court; Haringe; Otterpool; Wilmington; Woodnesborough

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. 'Kent Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 6 November 2013.
  2. 'England, Kent, Parish Registers, 1538-1911,' FamilySearch, accessed 13 November 2013.
  3. 'Mid-Kent Marriage Index 1754-1911,' Woodchurch Ancestry Group, accessed 16 January 2014.

FamilySearch

To access available information, first log into FamilySearch.