Selsey, Sussex Genealogy
Guide to Selsey, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Westhampnett|
|Parish registers: 1662|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1571|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Chichester|
|Location of Archive|
|Sussex Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
SELSEY (St. Peter), a parish, in the union of West Hampnett, hundred of Manhood, rape of Chichester, W. division of Sussex, 8 miles (S.) from Chichester. The parish is bounded on the east and south by Pagham harbour and the English Channel. There is a place of worship for Bryanites.
The history of the church is available at Sussex Parish Churches Selsey St Peter and St Wilfrid Church Norton
The Parish Church of St Peter has been designated as a grade II listed building British listed building
Other places of worship include
Selsey Methodist Church dates from 1867 Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC) The Methodist Church has been designated a grade II listed building British listed building
Our Lady of Mt Carmel and St Wilfred (Roman Catholic) Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC)
St Wilfrid, Church Norton Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC) includes International Genealogical Index Batch The chapel is now in the care of the Churches Conservation Trust. The St Wilfrid Chapel Rectory Lane Selsey has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed Building St Wilfrid Church Norton Wikipedia list of churches preserved by the Churches Conservation Trust in South East England Wikipedia
See also Selsey Wikipedia
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
From 1837 this parish was in the Westhmpnett registration district From 1935 this became part of Chichester registration district
Certificates can be ordered from West Sussex
Centralised Certificates Office
West Sussex Record Office
Phone: 01243 642122
Church Records[edit | edit source]
|BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)|
|FREG = FreeReg.org.uk|
|IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free|
|PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)|
|SELSEY PARISH Online Records|
|PRTS||1594-1619, 1662-1900||1594-1901||1594-1619, 1662-1901|
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Selsey
Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]
- 1717 England & Wales, Roman Catholics, 1717 at FindMyPast ($), index and images
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
See Sussex Census
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 44-48. Date accessed: 30 September 2013
- 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county', Origins.net (Wayback Machine), accessed 30 December 2013.
- Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Sussex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 2 January 2014.
- 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 22 December 2013.