To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Sevenoaks Weald, Kent Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Sevenoaks Weald

Guide to Sevenoaks Weald, Kent ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Sevenoaks Weald, Kent
Sevenoaks Weald St George Kent.jpg
Sevenoaks Weald St George Kent
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Codsheath
County Kent
Poor Law Union Sevenoaks
Registration District Sevenoaks
Records begin
Parish registers: 1831
Bishop's Transcripts: 1816
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Shoreham
Diocese Pre-1845 - Rochester; Post-1844 - Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1845 - Court of the Peculiar of the Archbishop of Canterbury in the Deaneries of Arches, Croydon and Shoreham; Post-1844 - Search the courts of surrounding parishes
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

SEVEN-OAKS (St. Nicholas), a market-town and parish, and the head of a union, in the hundred of Codsheath, lathe of Sutton-at-Hone, W division of Kent, 17½ miles W from Maidstone, and 24 SE by S from London. The town on the ridge of hills separates the Upland from the Weald or southern part. The Baptists have two places of worship, and the Supralapsarians and Wesleyans one each. [1] There were incumbencies (chapels built) at Riverhead (by 1848) and at Weald (1822 as well, lying within the ancient parish of St Nicholas, Sevenoaks (both of which, see).

Sevenoaks Weald is a village and civil parish in the Sevenoaks district of Kent. Sevenoaks Weald Wikipedia

Sevenoaks Weald St George was formed as a chapel of ease to Sevenoaks, Kent so that local parishioners did not have to make the long climb to St Nicholas Sevenoaks. It was constructed in 1821 and the churchyard and building were the gift of the Lambarde family.

The chapel became a parish in 1861 and the extension of the building in 1871 was designed by T.G.Jackson in the Diocese of Rochester; a map of the parish boundary may be found at A church near you.

The Church of St George Sevenoaks Weald has been designated as a grade C listed building British listed building See Kent Churches website

Long Barn, located in the village of Sevenoaks Weald, Kent, is a Grade II listed property and the former home of Vita Sackville-West and Harold Nicolson. The house is also notable for having famous residents like Douglas Fairbanks and Charles Lindbergh at various times.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

See Sevenoaks Registration District 1837-1941 Tonbridge Registration District

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House (Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Sevenoaks Weald parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS PRs = England, Kent, Parish Registers, 1538-1911 (FamilySearch) - free
FS Canterbury PRs = England, Kent, Canterbury Parish Registers, 1538-1986 (FamilySearch) - free
FS BTs = England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts, 1560-1911 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
FREG = FreeREG - free
FMP Kent = Kent Baptisms, Marriages, Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP Canterbury = Kent Canterbury Archdeaconry Baptisms, Marriages, Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP East Kent = East Kent Marriage and Burial Indexes (FindMyPast) - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Sevenoaks Weald Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs 1538-1911
1538-1911
1538-1911
FS Canterbury PRs 1538-1986
1538-1986
1538-1986
FS BTs
1560-1911
1560-1911
1560-1911
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FREG 1538-1900s
1538-1900s
1538-1900s
FMP Kent 1538-1988
1538-1997
1538-2010
FMP Canterbury 1538-1918
1538-1934
1538-1998
FMP East Kent

1538-1754
1813-1841
BOYD

1538-1850


IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Kent Online Parish Clerks has indexes available for select parishes. Records are also available at the Kent Archives.

Original deposited registers were formerly held at:

Centre for Kentish Studies, County Hall, Maidstone, Kent ME14 1XX

From Spring 2012 material formerly held at
Centre for Kentish Studies, County Hall, Maidstone, Kent ME14 1XX
is available at Kent History and Library Centre see Kent Archives which also enables a search of the catalogue for Kent Archives material deposited at Canterbury Cathedral Archives

Family History Library film numbers
Sevenoaks Weald

Bishop's transcripts of Sevenoaks, 1816-1890

Includes some transcripts from the District chapelry of Sevenoaks Weald.
Kent Archives Office reference: DRB/RT2/330/1-10
See also England, Kent, Parish Registers and Bishop's Transcripts (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census returns for Sevenoaks 1841-1891

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Local Family History Centre[edit | edit source]

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.


Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 48-51. Date accessed: 20 May 2013.
  2. ArcherSoftware.co.uk

FamilySearch

To access available information, first log into FamilySearch.