To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Shorne, Kent Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Shorne, Kent ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


Shorne, Kent
Shorne St Peter & St Paul Kent.jpg
Shorne St Peter & St Paul Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Shamwell
County Kent
Poor Law Union North Aylesford
Registration District North Aylesford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1718
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Rochester
Diocese Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Rochester
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

SHORNE (St. Peter and St. Paul), a parish, in the union of North Aylesford, hundred of Shamwell, lathe of Aylesford, W division of Kent, 3¾ miles SE from Gravesend. [1]

Shorne is a village and civil parish in the Gravesham district of Kent Shorne Wikipedia

Shorne St Peter and St Paul is an Ancient Parish; the church dates from the 13th century with later additions and was restored in 1873 by T.H.Wyatt and has been designated a grade II* listed building by English Heritage.British listed buildings

See Shorne North West Kent Family History Society which includes other places of worship and Shorne St Peter and St Paul See also Merston North West Kent Family History Society

See Edward Hasted, The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 3 (1797), pp. 442-456. Date accessed: 21 October 2013. at British History Online and Kent Churches website

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

and registrations from July 1837 to the present day are held at:
Medway district
The Register Office
Northgate
Rochester
ME1 1LS
Telephone 01634 338902
Fax 01634 338913
register.office@medway.gov.uk

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Shorne parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[3]
FREG = FreeREG - free[4]
FS BTs = England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts (FamilySearch) - free[5]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[6]
MED = Medway Ancestors - free[7]
Shorne Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1812-1875


FMP
1813-1835

FREG 1813-1818


FS BTs 1718-1875 1718-1875 1718-1875
IGI 1538-1812 1538-1835
MED 1538-1996 1538-1996 1538-1996

International Genealogical Index Batch Numbers

  • Christenings 1538-1812 Batches (C135111, C135112)
  • Marriages 1538-1835 Batches (M135111-M135113)

Census records[edit | edit source]

Shorne Census returns 1841-1891

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Local Family History Centre[edit | edit source]

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 87-90. Date accessed: 20 May 2013.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 7 November 2013.
  3. 'Coverage of Kent parish marriage records', Find My Past, accessed 6 November 2013.
  4. 'Kent Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 6 November 2013.
  5. 'England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts, 1560-1911,' FamilySearch, accessed 11 November 2013.
  6. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Kent, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 18 November 2013.
  7. 'Medway Ancestors Imagebase: list of parishes, in alphabetical order', Cityark, accessed 8 November 2013.

FamilySearch

To access available information, first log into FamilySearch.