Sibthorpe, Nottinghamshire Genealogy
Guide to: Sibthorpe, Nottinghamshire ancestry, family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census, birth, marriage and death records.
Sibthorpe St Peter Nottinghamshire
|County||Nottinghamshire, England Genealogy|
|Poor Law Union||Bingham|
|Parish registers: 1720|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1613|
|Probate Court||Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Nottinghamshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
SIBTHORPE (St. Peter), a parish, in the union of Bingham, S. division of the wapentake of Newark and of the county of Nottingham, 6¾ miles (S. S. W.) from Newark. Thomas de Sibthorpe founded a chantry in the church, and subsequently erected it into a college for a warden, nine chaplains, three clerks, and four choristers; he also added four chapels, in honour of St. Anne, St. Katharine, St. Margaret, and St. Mary.
Sibthorpe St Peter is an Ancinet Parish in the Rushcliffe district of Nottinghamshire.
Southwell and Nottingham Church History Project has researched the parish history Southwell St Peter
The parish church of St Peter has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building
See also Sibthorpe Wikipedia
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Sibthorpe St Peter parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FMP = Nottinghamshire Parish Records (findmypast) - (£)|
|PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)|
|SIBTHORPE PARISH Online Records|
Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Baptisms 1720- 1903 Marriages 1721-1901 Burials 1721-1904 Bishop's Transcripts 1613-1853
Nottinghamshire County Council
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Sibthorpe
Sibthorpe - St. Peter's. A transcription of the Memorial Inscriptions inside, and outside the church, dating from 1777, listing surname, given name, date of death, and age at death. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 63, pages 33-34. FHL Ref 942.52 D25n
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
| This section requires expansion with:
any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above..
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 09 December 2013.
- 'Nottinghamshire baptisms 1538-1980,' 'Nottinghamshire marriages 1528-1929,' 'Nottinghamshire burials 1539-1905,' findmypast, accessed 12 January 2015.
- Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Digital Library.