Simonstone, Lancashire Genealogy
History[edit | edit source]
Simonstone St Peter is an Ecclesiastical parish within Padiham, Lancashire .
Simonstone is a small, largely residential, village in the Ribble Valley area of East Lancashire about 1 mile (1.6 km) west of Padiham, 4 miles (6 km) west of Burnley and south of Pendle Hill. and Clitheroe along the A671 road.
The civil parish shares a Parish Council and two council seats with its neighbouring village of Read, Lancashire.
St Peter's CE Church is the local Church of England building in the village and was founded in 1841. The interior of the building is modern and part is also used as the school hall and gym during the week.
The Diocese of Blackburn is a Church of England diocese, covering much of Lancashire, created in 1926 from part of the Diocese of Manchester. The Diocese includes the towns of Blackburn, Blackpool, Burnley, and the cities of Lancaster, and Preston, as well as a large part of the Ribble Valley.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is Free BMD.
Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Include here information for parish registers, Bishop's Transcripts and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. Add links to the FamilySearch Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection
Census Records[edit | edit source]
| This section requires expansion with:
any unique information, such as the census for X year was destroyed.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- England Jurisdictions 1851
- Vision of Britain
Websites[edit | edit source]
Add any relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.