Skäfthammar Parish, Uppsala, Sweden Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Skäfthammar parish, Sweden)
Jump to navigation Jump to search


Guide to Skäfthammar Parish, Sweden ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

History[edit | edit source]

(write information such as: how old the parish is, interesting facts about the parish, what alternate names it has, or any boundary changes.)

Skäfthammar Parish, Uppsala, Sweden Genealogy
Jurisdictions
Stift Uppsala ärkestift, 1989- Uppsala
Pastorat -1961 Hökhuvud and Skäfthammar, 1962-1971 Ekeby and Skäfthammar, 1972- Hökhuvud, Ekeby and Skäfthammar
Län 1634- Uppsala
Landskap Uppland
Härad Oland
Tingslag -1883 Oland, 1884-1970 Uppsala läns norra domsaga
Domsaga 1680-1714 see Alunda, 1715-1880 Uppsala läns norra, 1880- Tierp
Fögderi 1720-1878 Sjätte, 1879-1885 Femte, 1886-1917 Oland, 1918-1966 Tiunda, 1967-1970 Uppsala, 1971- Tierp
Kommun 1863-1951 Skäfthammar, 1952-1973 Oland, 1974- Östhammar
Militär indelning Uplands Regemente: Olands Kompani, Extra Soldat-Roteringen, Upplands Regemente: Majorens (Olands) kompani
NAD Ref Code SE/ULA/11352
National Archive SVAR link
Swedish Wikipedia link
SCB Congregation map link
Open Street map link


Place Names[edit | edit source]

Botmora, Botmora ägor, Bräckbohl, Bummelmora

Edsmossen, Elgmora

Fastbohl

Gimo Bruk

Hafssvalget

Igelsbygden, Igelsbygden ägor

Johannislund

Knutsbohl

Lundaräng, Mortorpet

Söder Skepthammar, Söder Skepthammar ägor

Norr Skepthammar

Walde, Walde ägor, Wreta


To see what kind of place it is you will need a Swedish Gazetteer.

  • Surrounding Parishes


Collections[edit | edit source]

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Online Database Church Records[edit | edit source]

The easiest way to access the Swedish Church Records is through the internet, using these five sites (see links to specific collections below). Four of these sites require a subscription for access. (ArkivDigital, Ancestry.com, and MyHeritage.com are available at a FamilyHistory Center near you free of charge.)

Help Using ArkivDigital: Online Databases for Sweden[edit | edit source]

These lessons will teach you how to use ArkivDigital:

Family History Library Records[edit | edit source]

Click Sweden, Uppsala Records for a full listing of microfilmed records (some digitized online) at the Family History Library, that may be digitized. Check back occasionally to see if your records have become available. In the meantime, some of them might be available at a Family History Center near you.
Click on "Places within Sweden, Uppsala and then select your parish.

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Related Sources[edit | edit source]

Help Reading Swedish Records[edit | edit source]

Help Reading Old Handwriting[edit | edit source]

Help With Research Objectives and Strategies[edit | edit source]

Sweden Research Strategies

References[edit | edit source]

Riksarkivet. "Skäfthammar Församling." Nationell ArkivDatabas (NAD). September 2011 http://www.nad.ra.se/

Skäfthammar, husförhörslängd 1846-1850, Ortregister.