Skudeneshavn Parish, Rogaland, Norway Genealogy
Guide to Skudeneshavn, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records
Skudeneshavn is in the Karmøy Region. Other parishes in this region include Karmøy the parishes of Avaldsnes, Kopervik (Stangeland), Skudenes, Skudeneshavn, Torvastad (Torvestad), Falnes, Ferkingstad and Åkra.
|Amt 1689-1919||1662-1682: Stavanger stiftamt, 1682-1919: Stavanger amt|
Church Records[edit | edit source]
- Skudenes clerical district contains priest and sexton records from the parishes Falnes with Skudeneshavn and Ferkingstad in Skudenes (Skudesnes) clerical district. Included Bokn (Bukken) parish until 1848 when it was annexed to Tysvær clerical district and Åkra parish until 1887 when it was annexed to Kopervik clerical district. Earlier church records were burned in 1841. Book 1 is a record made by the priest about 1847 of church affairs before 1842. These records are available on microfilm at the Family History Library.
- Digital images of the church books are available at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).
Census Records[edit | edit source]
- For 1865 and earlier see Skudenes
- 1875 census for Skudesnes/Skudesneshavn Digital Archives
- 1885: A special 1885 census for Skudeneshavn exists and is available in a searchable database online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).
- 1891: The 1891 census for Skudeneshavn is available in a searchable database online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).
- 1900: The 1900 census for Skudeneshavnis available on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. Also available in a searchable database online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).
- 1910: The 1910 census for Skudeneshavn is available in a searchable database online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
For 1666-1795 the probates are found in Ryfylke og Karmsund judicial district.
For 1793-1901 they are found in Karmsund judicial district.
The clerical probates for 1692-1812 are found in Karmsund deanery.
Availability[edit | edit source]
Farm Books[edit | edit source]
- A genealogy of the people and their farms in Skudenes and Skudeneshavn on Karmøy in Rogaland county with some history.
Lillehammer, Arnvid, "Skudenes og Skudeneshavn," Karmøy: Utgitt av bygdebokutvalget i Karmøy, 1982. 948.31/S12 D2L FHL INTL Book
- Family Group Record forms of the families living in the parishes Falnes, Ferkingstad, Akre and Bokn in Skudenes clerical district before Oct 1841. The parish records were destroyed in a fire in Oct 1841. These records were compiled from the priests survey (G.S. film number 126304) and from the 1758 and 1801 census records. These records are arranged in alphabetical order by the husbands first name.
"Families in Skudenes clerical district from 1670 to 1842," Salt Lake City, Utah: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1980. FHL INTL Film 1124522 (Names 1670-1842, A - M) FHL INTL Film 1124523 Item 1 (Names 1670-1842, M - Z 1670-1800 A - V (Bokn)).
Farm Book on the Internet[edit | edit source]
Karmøy Genealogy Club is creating an internet accessable listing of the families who have lived on Karmøy. The sources for this website are "Bygdebok for Karmøy," Norges Bybyggelse, notes of Johannes Mjølhus, the church books, probate records, census records, and private family information.
The family listings are by the farm which they lived on. The explanation of the website is in English but the family information is in Norwegian.
You will find a list of all the farms which are found in the modern Karmøy kommune. As the information comes available there will be a link from the table to the information on a specific farm. On the internet you will only find information of those inhabitants who had registered descendants. A more complete listing is found in the office in Skudeneshavn. You can E-mail inquires to Slektsforum.email@example.com.
Return to Norway Page►