To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Smeeth, Kent Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Smeeth, Kent ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


Smeeth, Kent
Smeeth St Mary Kent.jpg
Smeeth St Mary Kent
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bircholt Franchise and Barony
County Kent
Poor Law Union East AshfordF
Registration District East Ashford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1660; For more records see Aldington
Bishop's Transcripts: 1559
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Lympne
Diocese Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Canterbury
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

SMEETH (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of East Ashford, franchise and barony of Bircholt, lathe of Shepway, E division of Kent, 4 miles ESE from Ashford. [1]

Smeeth is a village and civil parish in the Ashford district of Kent, see Smeeth Wikipedia

Smeeth St Mary is an Ancient Parish in the Diocese of Canterbury; it part of the Smeeth (St. Mary) with Monks Horton and Stowting and Brabourne benefice. See A20 churches website

The church of St Mary has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building

See Edward Hasted, The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 8 (1799), pp. 2-9. Date accessed: 21 October 2013. at British History Online and Kent Churches website

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

See East Ashford Registration District

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House (Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Smeeth parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
FS PRs = England, Kent, Parish Registers (FamilySearch) - free[3]
MIDK = Mid-Kent Marriage Index 1754-1911 - free[4]
Smeeth Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG
1754-1911

FS PRs 1824-1900 (banns)
MIDK 1754-1911

Land Tax[edit | edit source]

Images for Smeeth are available at FamilySearch Records see England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments - FamilySearch Historical Records 1780-1831

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census returns for Smeeth 1841-1891

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable).

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Local Family History Centre[edit | edit source]

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 123-125. Date accessed: 20 May 2013.
  2. 'Kent Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 6 November 2013.
  3. 'England, Kent, Parish Registers, 1538-1911,' FamilySearch, accessed 13 November 2013.
  4. 'Mid-Kent Marriage Index 1754-1911,' Woodchurch Ancestry Group, accessed 16 January 2014.

FamilySearch