Smethwick, Staffordshire Genealogy
Guide to Smethwick, Staffordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|County||Staffordshire, England Genealogy|
|Poor Law Union||Kings Norton|
|Registration District||Kings Norton|
|Parish registers: 1732|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1774|
|Rural Deanery||West Bromwich|
|Probate Court||Court of the Peculiar of the Dean and Chapter of Lichfield|
|Location of Archive|
|Staffordshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
SMETHWICK, a hamlet and manufacturing district, in the parish of Harborne, union of King's-Norton, S. division of the hundred of Offlow and of the county of Stafford, 3 miles (W. by N.) from Birmingham. There are places of worship for Independents and Wesleyans. 
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Smethwick parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FREG = FreeREG - free|
|FS = FamilySearch - free|
|NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)|
|SMETHWICK PARISH OLD CHURCH Online Records|
St Andrews Mission Church was formed out of Smethwick St Paul Parish. Registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|ST ANDREWS MISSION CHURCH (1898) Online Records|
Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
New St. Wesleyan Methodist Church registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|NEW ST WESLEYAN METHODIST CHURCH (1840) Online Records|
Waterloo Rd Wesleyan Methodist Chapel registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|WATERLOO ROAD WESLEYAN METHODIST CHAPEL'(1882) Online Records'|
Smethwick Primitive Methodist Circuit registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|SMETHWICK PRIMITIVE METHODIST CIRCUIT'(1849) Online Records'|
Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
Reference[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 123-125. Date accessed: 05 November 2012.
- 'Staffordshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 15 August 2014.
- 'IGI Batch Numbers for Stafford (N-Z), England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 23 September 2013.
- 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 8 September 2013.