South Banbury, Northamptonshire Genealogy
Guide to South Banbury, Northamptonshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
| South Banbury, Northamptonshire | |
|---|---|
| Type | England Jurisdictions |
| Civil Jurisdictions | |
| Hundred | Banbury; King's-Sutton |
| County | Northamptonshire, England Genealogy |
| Poor Law Union | Banbury |
| Registration District | Banbury |
| Records begin | |
| Parish registers: 1853 | |
| Bishop's Transcripts: None | |
| Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions | |
| Rural Deanery | Deddington |
| Diocese | Oxford |
| Province | Canterbury |
| Legal Jurisdictions | |
| Probate Court | Court of the Peculiar of Banbury; Court of the Peculiar of Aylesbury |
| Location of Archive | |
| Northamptonshire Record Office | |
Contents
Parish History[edit | edit source]
South Banbury is an Ecclesiastical Parish partly in Northamptonshire and partly in Oxfordshire; Created in 1846 from Banbury Ancient Parish.[1]
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
South Banbury parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
| South Banbury Online Parish Records | ||||||
| Indexes | Images | Indexes | Images | Indexes | Images | |
| FS | 1538-1975 | 1538–1973 | 1538-1991 | |||
| FREG | 1538-1900s | 1538-1900s | 1538-1900s | |||
| ANC 1 | 1532-1812 | 1532-1812 | 1532-1812 | |||
| ANC 2 | 1813-1912 | 1754-1912 | 1813-1912 | |||
| FMP | 1538-1921 | 1525-2006 | ||||
| JOIN | 1538-1837 | |||||
| NBI | 1561-2001 | |||||
| IGI | ||||||
| FS Catalog PRs | ||||||
| FS Catalog BTs | ||||||
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Records are also available at the Northamptonshire Record Office.
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 0474571.
To view these census images online, they are available through a number of websites for a fee or free.
■findmypast (fee-based) but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
■Ancestry.co.uk(fee-based) but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
■The Genealogist.co.uk(fee-based) but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
■FreeCen is a free based UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Northamptonshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- ↑ John Bartholomew Gazetteer of the British Isles, (1887)). Adapted. Date accessed 27 November 2013.
- ↑ ArcherSoftware.co.uk
A Selection of Useful Websites for Banbury.
