South Carolina Archives and Libraries
|South Carolina Wiki Topics|
|South Carolina Background|
|Local Research Resources|
These repositories preserve sources, maintain indexes, and provide services to help genealogists document their ancestors who lived in South Carolina.
For manuscript collections and compiled genealogies, the South Caroliniana Library in Columbia, and the South Carolina Historical Society in Charleston are excellent places to start. Both are discussed in this footnote article.
Wiki Articles on Major Repositories in South Carolina[edit | edit source]
South Carolina Dept. of Archives and History · South Carolina Historical Society · Episcopal Diocese of South Carolina Archives · Charleston Library Society · South Carolina Genealogical Society · South Caroliniana Library · Dallas Public Central Library · Chattanooga Public Library Downtown · National Archives at Atlanta · Santa Cruz Public Library Downtown
South Carolina Online Records[edit | edit source]
Links to online databases and indexes that may include vital records, biographies, cemeteries, censuses, histories, immigration records, land records, maps, military records, naturalizations, newspapers, obituaries, or probate records.
Also visit the State Library Obituary Resources Portal for a listing of SC public libraries that assist with family history searches.
Statewide Repositories[edit | edit source]
South Carolina Dept of Archives and History[edit | edit source]
South Carolina Department of Archives and History
- They have colonial records, original county records, and the best manuscript collection in the state. It is a good place to start. The archives has an online search engine for indexes to Confederate Pension Applications, 1919-1926, Criminal Journals, 1769-1776, Plats for State Land Grants, 1784 to 1868, and Will Transcripts 1782 to 1855 as well as other records. It also has a list of county records available at the Archives: Selected Bibliography of County, City, and Town Histories at the SC Archives Reference Library.
- The staff will check a few indexes for a specific name and send a photocopy order for records in which that name appears. A useful guide to the collection is Marion C. Chandler and Earl W. Wade, The South Carolina Archives: A Temporary Summary Guide, 2d ed. (Columbia, South Carolina: South Carolina Department of Archives and History, 1976; At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL book 975.7 A5c).
SD department of Archives and History Research at the Archives - Check online Research tab, then on Online records index to search.
South Carolina State Library[edit | edit source]
- Book collection is the largest in the state. They also have newspapers, biographies, and reference works.
South Carolina Digital Library provides free access to historic materials.
Charleston, SC 29401-2299
Internet: South Carolina Historical Society
- One of their strengths is colonial immigrant records. They also have biographies, genealogies, and early newspapers. A helpful guide to the manuscript collection of this society is David Moltke-Hansen and Sallie Doscher, “South Carolina Historical Society Manuscript Guide,” South Carolina Historical Magazine, July 1979 (Charleston: South Carolina Historical Society, 1979) At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL book 975.7 B2s, vol. 80, no. 3, supp.; film 1697883 item 13
- Many original Church of England (Episcopal Church) records dating from South Carolina's colonial period (1706-1778) are kept at this facility. The colonial government until 1785 requested the help of local Episcopal parishes in certain functions including record keeping. All surviving colonial parish registers have been published in South Carolina Historical and Genealogical Magazine WorldCat 49042081; FHL Book 975.7 B2s, or in book form. For a descriptive inventory of surviving colonial and more recent parish records, see:
Regional Repositories[edit | edit source]
Camden Archives and Museum[edit | edit source]
- Their collection covers the whole state with many indexes, bibliographies, books, and periodicals.
Charleston County Public Library[edit | edit source]
Charleston, South Carolina 29401
Charleston County Public Library
- The Charleston County Public Library possesses a large number of books, maps, manuscripts, and images covering a wide variety of local history and genealogical topics. These resources are divided into two separate departments. The South Carolina Room houses local and regional history and genealogy materials, focusing on the history and genealogy of South Carolina, with special emphasis on Charleston and the Lowcountry. The Special Collections Department is an archive of historic manuscripts, books and visual materials representing Charleston and the surrounding Lowcountry. Access to the original materials in Special Collections is by appointment only, but much of the unique manuscript material is available on microfilm or photocopies in the South Carolina Room.
Charleston, SC 29401
Internet: Charleston Library Society
- This is one of the finest genealogical facilities in the South with a very large collection of family folders, and genealogies.
Darlington County Historical Commission[edit | edit source]
204 Hewitt St
Darlington, SC 29532
Internet: Darlington County Historical Commission
- South Carolina reference materials with good indexes.
Greenville Co Libr System Hughes Main Libr[edit | edit source]
- This excellent book library has a good genealogy collection of South Carolina's former residents including family folders, biographies, and histories.
Orangeburg County Historical Society Library[edit | edit source]
- Holdings include court records, family records, deeds, mortgages, surname folders, church records, cemetery transcripts, books and documents of local families.
- The South Carolina Genealogical Society, and the Old Edgefield District Genealogical Society, at the Tompkins Memorial Library have newspapers, old Edgefield County records such as probate wills and deeds, censuses and mortality tables. There is also an extensive collection of family histories, and over 2,000 surname files available to researchers, which contain Bible records, newspaper clippings, letters, lineage charts, and diary excerpts. The collection includes subject files which include church histories, and cemetery surveys. The old Ninety-Six District is emphasized.
University of South Carolina
Columbia, SC 29208-0103
Internet: South Caroliniana Library
- This is and outstanding collection for South Carolian and the South, including manuscripts, genealogies, histories, atlases, and gazeteers. A useful guide to the manuscript collection of this library is Allen H. Stokes, A Guide to the Manuscript Collection of the South Caroliniana Library (Columbia, South Carolina: The Library, 1982); WorldCat 8956047; FHL book 975.7 A3s; fiche 6101065
Sumter County Genealogical Center[edit | edit source]
- This is a premier genealogy collection for South Carolina. The outstanding Janie Reville Collection is well indexed. You can find references to nearly all South Carolina families here.
Outside South Carolina Repositories[edit | edit source]
- Includes the Upper South's largest family folder collection which is heavy on Tennessee, North Carolina, and South Carolina. Internet genealogy databases, census, newspapers, obituary index, county records, 30,000 books, manuscripts, and genealogical periodicals.
Dallas, Texas 75201-9987 USA
Internet: Dallas Public Library Genealogy
- Outstanding genealogical collection with records for more than Texas, including South Carolina, Oklahoma, the South, Mid-Atlantic, and New England states.
Morrow, Georgia 30260 USA
Internet: National Archives at Atlanta
- Records from over 100 federal agencies and courts in South Carolina. Also includes Vice Admiralty Courts of SC, evolution of federal courts, Constitutional rights, Revolutionary War, Civil War, reconstruction, World Wars I and II, and space exploration. Microfilms for censuses, diplomatic missions, military service records, bounty-land applications, passenger arrival lists, naturalizations, American Indians, and African Americans.
224 Church Street
Santa Cruz, California 95060
Telephone: 831-427-7707 ext. 5794
E-mail: E-mail reference service form
Internet: Locations and Hours-SC Genealogical Society Library
- Holds the Genealogical Society of Santa Cruz County's library, including the Tina Brayton Collection which is equivalent to the Draper Manuscript Collection but larger and with a better index, and many compiled genealogies of Kentucky, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Virginia, and West Virginia families. 
For Further Reading[edit | edit source]
- A helpful guide to research institutions in South Carolina is John Hammond Moore, Research Materials in South Carolina . . . (Columbia, South Carolina: University of South Carolina Press, 1967) At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL book 975.7 A5m
- To learn more about the history and record-keeping systems of South Carolina counties, use the 14 inventories of the county archives published by the Historical Records Survey around 1940. The Family History Library has all of the inventories South Carolina Archives and Libraries - Inventories, Registers and Catalogs
- South Carolina Libraries (Government, Public, Academic)
- Archives in Appalachia: A Directory. Boone, North Carolina: Appalachian Consortium Press, 1985. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL book 975 A3a. The record covers the states of Georgia, Kentucky, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Virginia, and West Virginia. The record is arranged alphabetically by state, then by the name of the repository. Each entry lists the archive, its address, phone number, inclusive dates of the collection, the records of the collection, what subjects are covered by the collection, and the size of the collection. There are two indexes: Record type, and Subject, with reference numbers corresponding to the repository. Also included is a list, under “Coming Attractions,” of agencies that do not currently collect manuscript materials but plan to do so in the future.
- The SC SHRAB South Carolina Historical Repository Directory online county-by-county directory.
References[edit | edit source]
- Mike Becknell, "Overview of South Carolina Genealogical Research," Group Tour of the South Carolina Department of Archives and History, 10 May 2011.
- William Dollarhide and Ronald A. Bremer. America's Best Genealogy Resource Centers (Bountiful, Utah: Heritage Quest, 1998), 101. WorldCat 39493985; FHL Ref Book 973 J54d.
- Alice Eichholz, ed., Redbook: American State, County, and Town Sources, 3rd ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 600. (FHL Book 973 D27rb). WorldCat entry.
- South Carolina History & Genealogy in Charleston County Public Library (accessed 9 November 2016).
- South Carolina Room in Charleston County Public Library (accessed 9 November 2016).
- The Charleston Archive in Charleston County Public Library (accessed 9 November 2016).
- Old Edgefield District Genealogical Society at http://oedgs.org/ (accessed 17 May 2011).
- Dollarhide Bremer, 85.
- Local History and Genealogy Department in Chattanooga Public Library (accessed 11 February 2014).
- Dollarhide and Bremer, 107.
- Dollarhide and Bremer, 127-28.
- Dollarhide and Bremer, 113.
- The Tina Brayton Collection in Genealogical Society of Santa Cruz County (accessed 3 January 2014).